Venue Details

120 Star Starred
Greenway Court Theatre
544 North Fairfax Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90036
323-655-7679 X100
Get directions

Member Tips

Goldstar Member
Casual to dressy
info Aug 13 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Free next to theater.
info Aug 13 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Water and coffee are served.
info Aug 13 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Open seating so please arrive early.
info Aug 13 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Keep it cauals and comfy.
info Aug 13 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
I'm glad cookies were available because I was a little hungry after the first segemnt. lol
info Aug 28 2012 star this tip starred
View All 12 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

35 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 27
    5
  • 6
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
44 events
24 reviews
33 stars
attended Aug 18 2012

There were significant technical difficulties the night I attended but the play was still thoroughly researched and exceedingly well performed. I do wonder if even... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
4 reviews
12 stars
attended Aug 11 2012

This was my second time viewing this production and I brought friends because I just want as many people as possible to enjoy Sandy Brown's fabulous performance!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Amina
88 events
11 reviews
509 stars
attended Aug 12 2012

The first act included Phyllis Wheatley, Harriet Tubman, Madam CJ Walker, and Harriet Tubman. It was wonderful to learn about each historical figure with such detail. ... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 32 Reviews
Member Photos
Img_20120902_225439
More Information

Website

http://www.SandyBrownLive.com

Quotes & Highlights

Goldstar members have loved Brown in her performances at other theaters. Read what they have to say about her shows at The Lillian Theatre, The Shelton Theatre and Theatre/Theater, where it won Goldstar’s “Roar of the Crowd” award.
“Ms. Brown is herself a pioneer of today, forging her own artistic creation … in a town full of celebrities … she herself is breaking new ground."  —The Examiner
“I just saw this great performance, Oh, Yes She Did by Sandy Brown, covering important African American women throughout history. It was quite incredible. I’ve always been an avid supporter of civil rights and this performance has only strengthened my feminist and egalitarian beliefs. I now have a huge list of books to read by Angela Davis, Gloria Steinem, and many others. It will probably take me years to read them all, but that’s a price I’m all too willing to pay. So I say: “Power to the people!!!” —Feminist Humor Blog

Description

Sandy Brown returns, blazing the stage, unleashing centuries of dynamic history, blending drama, humor, music, dance & multi-media as she breathes-to-life legacies of bold Lady Pioneers who helped liberate the nation, and changed the course of American History, forever.

Experience the powerful ride of social justice/injustice in America as Sandy Brown morphs into legendary women who liberated a nation: Revolutionary War slave-poet Phillis Wheatley; runaway with Harriet Tubman on the Underground Railroad; meet world’s first woman self-made millionaire-suffragette Madame CJ Walker; follow global superstar and war spy Josephine Baker; go backstage with jazz legend Billie Holiday; bus-ride with Rosa Parks; protest with activist Angela Davis; campaign with first woman Democratic presidential candidate Shirley Chisholm and more on this innovative and critically-acclaimed theatrical journey through the centuries.