Nutcracker art

The Nutcracker

Steppenwolf Upstairs Theatre (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

93 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 47
    5
  • 31
    4
  • 13
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Nov 23 2007

Really enjoyed it ! The acting & music were terrific ! The scary Mouse King was quite a surprise . It really was scarey!! Loved the wisdom of the
G.O.T.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 07 2007

the best theater company in chicago. so imaginative and entertaining.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Nov 24 2007

This play far exceeded my expectations. The story was enjoyable, actors were awesome, costumes, scenary - I can't say enough. Would highly recommend it

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Dec 20 2007

This show is a great adaptation from the original. The characters are funny, the story keeps you intrigued, and it even has a little singing. The live mini pit orchestra is a nice touch as well. Do yourself a favor and go see this show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 23 2007

This was a very fun and creative adaptation of the Nutcracker. I thoroughly enjoyed it as did my guests. I would think twice about bringing children however under the age of 12 however. It can be a bit scary for younger children.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 08 2007

Very clever take on the original Nutcracker - so entertaining!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Dec 20 2007

Very creative with an entertaining and talented cast. Recommended.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 23 2007

Very funny, but darker than the original. I would not recommend for small children, but for adults it's great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 25 2007

Very well done, but some parts may be too dark for small children. This is the 3rd House production I've seen and I've never been disappointed. This adaptation was funny, clever, thought-provoking, and a little scary.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 13 2007

What a suprise delight! Three of my friends joined me and we all loved it!! We had no idea what to expect and were blown away! This is a must see for adults or a family night out! Also, thank you to Goldstar, our seats were great!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 3 next