1397079083 popachubby 040914

Popa Chubby in Concert

B.B. King Blues Club (New York City, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

10 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 7
    5
  • 2
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
36 events
12 reviews
29 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

If you like rock-and-roll and are more into instrumental music, this event is for you. Popa Chubby has unmistakable guitar talent. But if you are looking for down-home, make me cry when I'm happy blues with vocals, you will not get what you are...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
82 events
30 reviews
66 stars
attended Jul 31 2013

Had a great time. Popa is a great guy I met years ago at BB. Kings and stayed friends. The best thing BB. Kings ever did was start working with Goldstar I go to a lot more shows because of Goldstar keep up the good work. And I'll keep going out...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
12 reviews
13 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

I expected a more BB or albert king bluesey type music and band, but what I got was R&R. I will say it was a good show and he is a great soloist, with great backup. All in all Im glad I went and would like to see him again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
4 reviews
2 stars
15 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

Popa turned fifty years old and is still cranking out awesome blues and pounding rock and roll.The bassist and drummer are to amazing for words.BB's is a nice space

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 05 2012

We had a fantastic time, Popa Chubby is an OUTSTANDING,extremely talented guitarist. I can't wait to seem him again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

Exactly what I expected -- and more. He and his band ROCK!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

Excellent guitarist, bassist and drummer. They were fun and Popa was very personable. More rock 'n roll than blues - I was hoping for a bit more blues. Original songs were pretty cool and Little Wing was well covered.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Apr 05 2010

GREAT Show! Fantastic Music!!!! Food prices are high so eat before you go!

star this review starred report as inappropriate