Ednaposter

Dame Edna: My First Last Tour

San Diego Civic Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

11 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
15 events
12 reviews
1 stars
attended Jun 03 2009

Dame Edna workin it! Lots of audience participation, fun with the gladiolas. Except for not knowing how conservative SD is, she really studied the towns, etc to make it personal. If you ever sat in the upper tier of that theatre you so related to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
11 reviews
1 stars
attended Jun 03 2009

This show is hysterical. I haven't laughed that much in one sitting for a long while! If you are in the first 10 or so rows be prepared to possibly be PART of the show. The Dame uses audience members as part of the show and if she picks you, go...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
5 reviews
7 stars
22 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

Great fun. Great seats. Never a dull moment never knew what was coming next. Very, very funny show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

Very, very funny and entertaining. Amazing at the very quick wit and repor with the audience. Adlibs were hilarious. Great acting and facial expressions to die for. Constant laughing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
37 events
7 reviews
6 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

Extremely talented and funny......I was in back Orchestra and had a hard time understanding some lines......sound system not loud enough & s/he talks so fast....Were the 4 "panelists" totally ad lib or "plants"? I gotta think the latter!
What a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
29 reviews
5 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

As always the Dame was great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
7 reviews
6 stars
attended Jun 03 2009

I think I would have enjoyed this event more in a smaller venue - the Civic is just too big for the sort of intimate comedy that is the stuff of Dame Edna. He is pretty funny, but I wouldn't go again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

In many ways, I think you already have to know Dame Edna to love her. I have seen her on TV many times. She is totally my cup of tea, and I had a wonderful time. Barry Humphries is quite the entertainer.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 04 2009

The venue is perfect; though maybe a bit to big. He/She is such a visual person that being closer and seeing facial expressions is a BIG part of the enjoyment. The show and staging was great and the performance was great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate