500clown 080609 v2

500 Clown and the Elephant Deal

Steppenwolf Upstairs Theatre (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

10 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
37 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Jun 24 2009

Different from their previous work, this is a cabaret driven piece inspired by a play by Bertolt Brecht. Molly Brennan and crew really shine in a work that is exteremely humorous while being full of all the meta-theatrical tension and existential...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 21 2009

Great fun because I had no idea what the hell was going on! 500 Clown is about being engulfed by talented clowning chaos that splashes the line between illusion and reality, the rehearsed and the improvised.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
24 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 03 2009

It was an awesome show! Absolutely CANNOT wait for their next show. After I watched 500 Clown and the Elephant Deal, I raved about it to my friends and tried to get more tickets only to realize I attended one of their last shows. I was so bummed....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
74 events
63 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 10 2009

Interesting...very funny. Everyone was laughing there heads off including my boyfriend. I enjoyed the musical numbers as well.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
40 reviews
5 stars
attended Jul 09 2009

Entertaining, but not nearly as good as 500 Clown McBeth.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
53 events
36 reviews
13 stars
attended Jul 02 2009

One of the best theater events I've been to in a LONG time. Keeps you entertained and guessing, laughing, overall amazing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
60 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Jun 27 2009

Wonderful cabaret show with the constant question of what's going to happen next.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 09 2009

If you like physical comedy, this is for you. The actors worked hard and the singer is fun and talented. Just not my kind of thing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate