Addingmachine 100809

Adding Machine: A Musical

Studio Theatre - Stage 4 (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
89 events
21 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 01 2009

Excellent production of a difficult and intriguing work. Uncompromising, and not for everyone. More like Wozzeck (the opera) than a musical, so be guided accordingly as to your own tastes. Extremely well staged and performed.
Seating is...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 25 2009

Excellent production: sets, staging, costumes, performances, music, text. Loved everything about it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
91 events
34 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 18 2009

My husband and I both thought it was terrific. The acting was terrific. The play was really thought provoking; no simple answers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
104 events
8 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 28 2009

My flight was late and consequently I got there late - almost 40 minutes after the curtain went up. The snippy staff would not so much as allow me to go stand in the back and watch the show. It was "you're late, too bad, we're keeping your money."

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
3 reviews
8 stars
attended Oct 25 2009

Excellent production of an interesting piece. Well worth the trip!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
20 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 01 2009

This play was enjoyed by my entire family. A dynamic, engaging evening, providing a look at 1920's attitudes. Beautifully performed!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
9 reviews
27 stars
attended Oct 30 2009

The Adding Maching is excellent! It stars an exceptional cast with strong vocal abilities and acting. It also features a compelling and original musical score.
The plot revolves around Mr. Zero, an Everyman who is being destroyed by The System,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
56 events
8 reviews
24 stars
attended Oct 18 2009

My husband didn't like it all. I thought it was interesting, and the actors were fantastic, but the music was jarring (as might be expected in an Expressionistic work) and overpowered the voices. And it didn't deliver on its premise as much as I...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
6 reviews
10 stars
attended Nov 06 2009

Excellent production and very thought provoking, but beware, I found the story to be very depressing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 01 2009

Highly intelligent play, very well produced and acted with excellent musical accompaniment. It may not be to evryone's taste but it is thought provoking and well wrought.

star this review starred report as inappropriate