Chucho valdes

Chucho Valdés

Luckman Fine Arts Complex, Cal State LA (Los Angeles, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

24 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 20
    5
  • 3
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
26 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Awesome - Chuco is a jazz master, Great venue to hear the 7 piece group. Wish that the venue allowed more liberty with ending time of the performance which ended at 10:30. Overall fabulous event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
16 reviews
17 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Absolutely spectacular. This was a true embodiment of musical talent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Beverly
70 events
7 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Valdes is one of the preminent pianists in the world - his genre is jazz, but my evaluation includes all genre. The concert was fabulous -- he played Afro-Cuban music, but also displayed his mastery of all jazz including works by Joe Zwavinul,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

The performance was outstanding.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

This rates as one of the most OUTSTANDING performances jazz or otherwise that I have ever seen. Chucho and his group were spectacular. His music was food for the soul.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
13 reviews
18 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

I can not provide enough superlatives to describe the joy, excitment and enthusiasm I experienced watching Chucho and his Afro-Cuban Messagers. The man is a true lover of his craft and the jazz music which inspires him and all that are within the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
8 reviews
18 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Excellent musicians who played extrordinarally precisioned percussive instruments. Chucko valdes is a must see when he appears in concert.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
18 events
6 reviews
28 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Chucho live is always amazing. He did not disappoint. Band was fabulous.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
12 reviews
14 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

One of the best concerts I've ever attended in almost 55 years of listening to jazz - technically superior and emotionally moving.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
118 events
79 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Very enjoyable. First row of the balcony was a great place to sit.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
168 events
50 reviews
10 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

All, that an intimate concert by Chucho Valdez, a Latin Jazz Great, would be. Was and more!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
47 events
24 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

one of the best concerts I have ever seen. Chucho Valdes is a genius! his musicians were first-class. hated for it to end.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
8 reviews
18 stars
Joan Thomas
39 events
7 reviews
9 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

Absolutely fantastic!!! Chucho is always excellent and each member of his quintet is an outstanding musician. A wonderful evening of music!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
6 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

Great performance! The musicians were all masters of their art!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 16 2010

I enjoyed it. We thought it was going to be a salsa concert but it was more of a jazz concert. I guess we should keep in mind that 'fine arts' means there probably won't be much room for dancing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
10 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

Great venue, small and intimate. I enjoyed the performance very very much.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

Incredible concert. Cucho magnificent. The other musicians all so talented. I will go again next year if he is in town.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

Like any other Cuban music and/or dance group on the world stage - not to be missed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate