Oklahoma august2011

Oklahoma!

Arena Stage - Fichandler (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

622 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 475
    5
  • 127
    4
  • 15
    3
  • 3
    2
  • 2
    1
9 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 26 2011

Performance was really good, a modern day interpretation of Oklahoma. Good music and performance by the troop. Exciting to see it in the newly renovated Arena Stage.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 02 2011

So much fun! One of the best shows I've seen at Arena stage. I knew nothing about Oklahoma going in and was blown away

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 02 2011

The musical was wonderful! Great seats - we felt we were part of the production! Outstanding cast!!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 21 2011

The new stage and environs at Arena Stage are terrific. The play would have been even better if the people sitting behind us hadn't sung along! The cast was great, in good voice, and the view of the Potomac River before-hand were welcome.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 09 2011

The play was lively and fun!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
10 stars
attended Aug 12 2011

The show was fun and Arena Stage is beautiful. Goldstar unfortunately had the worst seats in the house, but the performance is in the round- so they weren't terrible, just disappointing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Jul 16 2011

The voices were beautiful! The actors so enthusiastic and the dancing was fabulous!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 02 2011

There was a time when you couldn't count on Arena Stage musicals. There would be one great voice, but decent to bad for the rest of the cast. Likewise with dancing. It changed quite awhile ago and has terrific musicals, but Oklahoma has taken...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
18 stars
attended Sep 01 2011

This is a terrific production of a wonderful old show! Brought back lots of memories for us!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 06 2011

This is a marvelous production - especially the male members of the cast! Curly and Will and Hakim were absolutely perfect in their roles, and Jud has a fabulous voice. The Laurie was a little disappointing, with uneven singing and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 06 2011

This is the second time I have seen this production. The singing was excellent, the acting very good, and the choreography was outstanding. I would recommend this production to anyone.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
4 reviews
12 stars
attended Sep 16 2011

This performance was awesome! I really enjoyed how the cast was diverse among many ethnic groups. This depiction gave a more realistic view of our culture both then and now even in the frontier….maybe not as inclusive as society is today.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
7 stars
attended Aug 14 2011

This show is a must see! Great singing, dancing and acting. Can't get some of the tunes out of my head! The only negative was the $9 charge for a glass of inexpensive white wine!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 19 2011

This was a very good production, and our seats were excellent. I'm pleased that I got to experience this show for half the cost.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 11 2011

To paraphrase: instead of "Oh, What a Beautiful Morning", it was oh, what a beautiful afternoon.
A terrific show with an excellent and energetic cast. And, of course, the music is wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
49 stars
attended Aug 07 2011

We did love it. We liked most of the updated changes to the original. Loved Arena Stage. The set decoration was great, the music was great, the acting was great and the singing was great too. We especially loved the actors playing Ado Annie,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 01 2011

We had a great time! The cast is wonderful, they all have good voices that blend well.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 07 2011

We loved the intimacy of this creative show! It was a real delight to attend!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 10 2011

Wonderful...I didn't want it to end! Terrific cast, direction, costumes, dancing,..the overall production was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone, any age.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 24 2011

"Oklahoma" was absolutely delightful!! Lovely to see how a true American classic can be updated to feel so contemporary.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 2 5 6 7 9 11 12 13 21 22