Sfs-ragnarbohlin-messiah-1107111

Handel's Messiah

Davies Symphony Hall (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

113 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 80
    5
  • 25
    4
  • 6
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
18 events
1 review
11 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Sublime performance! Great seats and beautiful location. Five Stars for the event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
11 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Very well performed - love the venue - seats were great - five stars!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The soloists were wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
4 reviews
8 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The seats were excellent, musicians and chorus top notch!
My first time at this venue and it is amazing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
MJP
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

The performance was very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Fantastic choir! Really got us in the spirit of Christmas. Davies was beautiful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Great way to kick off the holiday season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

This was a beautiful event! The tix were easy to pick up at will call, the seats were much better than I expected, the music was perfect!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

This was a gorgeous production. The soloists had rich but subtle voices and the choir was magnificent. I thought a more tender side of the piece was brought to the fore and it brought tears to my eyes. Bravo, brava, all. Thank you.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
14 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

Great performance. Attendingg a Messiah performance kicks off the holiday season for me. This was a great way to do that. The performance, the venue, the atmosphere -- all were great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
7 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

Great! Nice venue. We got seats in the last row in the upper balcony. We could see everything, just that it everything was small. But since there really isn't anything to see, I was ok with it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
5 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 17 2011

Absolutely incredible. Conductor Bohlin did an outstanding job of bringing every instrument and vocalist together into one smooth sound. Loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

SF Symphony Chorus Director Ragnar Bohlin gave a superb, full interpretation of Messiah. It was precise and restrained, rather than exuberant and energetic, as you might... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
87 events
63 reviews
26 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

The event was beautiful, although my companion and I did not personally like the voice quality of the second soprano. We found the first soprano to be sublime, however, and the baritone very pleasing. Overall, it was a memorable performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
92 events
59 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 16 2010

Perfect production in every sense of the word! It is not often that one has the opportunity to hear the complete, uncut version of Handel's "Messiah" and it was done spotlessly by all the performers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
92 events
48 reviews
12 stars
attended Dec 15 2012

It was very beautiful. Much of the reason why I went was to be part of the audience during the christmas season. The piece is long and I knew that but it was worth sitting thru just to be somewhere so beautiful

star this review starred report as inappropriate
58 events
45 reviews
23 stars
53 events
36 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 14 2012

San Francisco Symphony and Chorus put on a wonderful production of Handel's Messiah. The soprano, Mezzo-soprano, tenor and bass all sang wonderfully. The was especially... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
68 events
28 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 14 2012

Good performance, especially from the bass. some of the audience member was lame, clapped during each break in the first half. Someone should just make an announcement in the beginning so people would know.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
43 events
20 reviews
49 stars
previous 1 3 4