1292880 comesundown 031511

Come Sundown

Ruskin Group Theatre (Santa Monica, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

29 ratings
3.6 average rating
  • 10
    5
  • 5
    4
  • 9
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    1
237 events
94 reviews
42 stars
attended Mar 27 2011

Loved it! Acting was superb, very well-cast. Interesting story, kept my interest throughout. Highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
221 events
187 reviews
7 stars
attended Apr 01 2011

I left at intermission. This was a disappointing script poorly performed. Although the Ruskin is a very small theater I was unable to hear some of dialogue from two of the young actors.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
188 events
90 reviews
46 stars
attended Apr 03 2011

I liked it. It's a sweet and touching magical-realism story - the kind of play (or story in any format) that is rarely made nowadays. However, it did feel as though this play could benefit from more work. The first act was a bit slow and choppy -...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
307 events
193 reviews
14 stars
attended Apr 01 2011

Poorly written but well acted by the older actors and average acting by the younger actors. Too many canned speeches by the writer which gives the play a totally artificial feeling. Don't believe the 5.0 reviews as they must be friends.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
139 events
50 reviews
-109 stars
attended Mar 26 2011

A current & topical dramedy, very well performed by good actors.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
18 reviews
23 stars
attended Apr 09 2011

I saw this with a friend who is an environmental lawyer. We were both disappointed that the environmental case wasn't pursued in any way - the good guys just capitulated. Paradoxically, we also liked "Mortimer Roach," the developer, far more...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
16 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 27 2011

Unfortunately, its pieces -- a lifeless love story, a series of anti-growth political speeches, and enviro-mysticism -- never add up to a coherent whole.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
14 reviews
39 stars
attended Apr 23 2011

The writing was cliched, unoriginal and grating. The acting was overly broad except for Shane Adler as Noelle who provided the only nuanced performance of the evening. Our entire party left at intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
115 events
86 reviews
31 stars
attended Apr 10 2011

I thought it was a fun afternoon, although my date was less impressed (maybe since we had just seen "Small Engine Repair" last week (hint, hint). The acting varied from ok to great (and somewhat proportional to age) with Shelly Kurtz showing a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
99 events
70 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 10 2011

The part that bothered me the most was that the personalities of the younger couple didn't match those of the older couple. Just not believable that they were the same people; different energy level. Preferred the love story to the political one.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
104 events
41 reviews
55 stars
attended Apr 02 2011

We enjoyed this play, however the older actors were far superior than the younger ones.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
14 reviews
36 stars
attended Apr 16 2011

The 2 older actors were very good, the younger ones not so much. the thesis was good but I felt it was too preach-y and I'm an ardent environmentalist.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
10 reviews
6 stars
attended Mar 26 2011

This was an unexpected surprise, and I am embrace whem these occur! well worth it@

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Mar 27 2011

The play was wonderfully acted! Very good story and actors, I highly recommend it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
254 events
192 reviews
144 stars
attended Apr 22 2011

Excellent play - very enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
158 events
115 reviews
19 stars
attended Apr 03 2011

Very enjoyable production. I thought the switching between the couple as young and older was very clever. Kudos for the set and the acting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Niomi
79 events
33 reviews
22 stars
attended Apr 03 2011

This show is elevating, surprising and delightful. I commend the writer, director and the actors for giving us a very special evening that will stay in our minds and inspire.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
21 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 26 2011

I did not care for the story but the acting was top shelf, A 1, great. I googled the actors and will be in the audience of anything else they perform in.

*****, five stars for the acting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
20 reviews
7 stars
attended Apr 01 2011

I did attend this beautiful play.I enjoyed the performance of all the actors, no one was weak, instead SUPER.
It was a nice evening, it made me feel happy and sad, but that is life!
I am recommending it to my friends.Thank you

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
13 reviews
12 stars
attended Mar 26 2011

Unfortunately, this event did not live up to the usual excellent "little theatre" presentations by RTG.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1