1424933 mammamia 062711 withtext

Mamma Mia!

Filene Center (Vienna, VA)

Reviews & Ratings

45 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
William Red Velvet
15 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

Great show. Fun music. The actress playing Donna had an amazing voice. Wolf Trap is perfect for a picnic on the lawn before the shoe (especially since they allow alcohol).

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
13 reviews
6 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

Excellent seat in the rear orchestra section. Excellent value from Goldstar. Easy in and out at Wolf Trap for the Sunday afternoon matinee. The only disappointment was one of the leading ladies took the afternoon of and her under-study did the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
11 reviews
12 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

A fun, fluffy, 'chick-flick' musical. Several very funny moments and some good singing. Sound system was a bit raw and some of the acting was over-the-top.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

great show, loved the music, acting was superb.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

The show was very good; however, the music before each act was WAY too loud! At times the music was too loud during the performance; it was almost like the person singing had to strain in order to be heard.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
JVP
6 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Bought tickets because my wife loves the movie. Although I'm not a big fan of ABBA - loved this production. Near perfect weather also helped.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Overall an excellent event. The casting, set, costumes, voices...everything was well done. I'd definitely suggest attending if you get the opportunity.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

I loved the show. Great fun and wonderful venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
RH
6 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

The play was excellent. Truly enjoyed it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

This was the penultimate performance, so the cast may have been tired, but the performance was listless. The weather was very hot and we didn't see any reason to sit in the heat and watch a mediocre show. We left at intermission

star this review starred report as inappropriate
JMS
11 events
3 reviews
9 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

Great show and great seats! Outstanding performances! Wonderful evening! And the weather even held out so we could picnic.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Be mindful when getting day time seats for Wolftrap that the light really changes the feel for the show. Mamma MIa is a great show that relies on bright costumes and lighting to help the effects; without them the show seemed silly. Wish I had...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

So much better than the movie.
Singing was great.
Very funny.
Lots of fun.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

The show is perfect ABBA and perfect theater. Wonderful show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
2 reviews
6 stars
attended Jul 03 2011

The show was awesome, but I missed some of the intensity and light effects because I went to the matinee.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Carrie Fuller
6 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

The venue was great! The seats where worth every dollar. Would do it again; great place to go with friends, family or a date.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
7 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

We took girls ages 11 and 14. Both loved it and we've all been humming ABBA tunes ever since! Although promiscuity is at the heart of the plot line, it is handled rather innocuously, and is trumped by the music, dancing and little plot twists....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Wolf Trap is always a great venue and I enjoyed this play. While I was not a huge fan of Abba when they were popular, it's hard not to enjoy "Dancing Queen" and "S.O.S."

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Wonderful energy! Loved the performance - the cast was great and the singing was fabulous! Would go and see it again in a heartbeat.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Jul 01 2011

Actually preferred the movie until the end. Thought sets were too plain, and thought male casting was not great. At the end, the performance of Abba songs created a great parting gift.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1