Cuban lover 072911 v1

Garbo's Cuban Lover

Macha Theatre (West Hollywood, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

122 ratings
3.9 average rating
  • 45
    5
  • 44
    4
  • 16
    3
  • 9
    2
  • 8
    1
9 events
1 review
25 stars
attended Nov 20 2011

Garbo's cuban lover was amazing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
10 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 28 2011

Had a fantastic time! Very charming theatre.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 25 2013

It was a good play that we enjoyed very much. It was funny and entertaining, albeit a bit corny in parts. The actress who played Garbo embodied her perfectly! She was a spitting image of anything I had ever seen Garbo in. I really enjoyed this...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jul 28 2013

It was a really good highly energetic live performance in a very intimate setting; the play is written and performed with lots of love and nostalgia for the Golden Age of Hollywood and greatest figures of that time. The costumes, make-up, hair...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Dec 03 2011

It was amazing, I loved it! Thanks Goldstar!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 11 2013

It was great....never was bored.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Oct 21 2011

My husband and I loved the play, the characters portrayed by the actors/ actresses and the quant theatre. We will definitely come back to this theatre. All the people that work at the theatre were very friendly and eager to help.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 22 2011

Overall I enjoyed the play.

PLEASE CONTINUE TO SUPPORT LIVE THEATRE!

Great little theatre with parking and beer/wine/coffee bar.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Sep 17 2011

Sadly what has the potential for greatness fell short. The acting did not capture my attention although the script seemed to have possibilities. It felt flat, all performances, and seemed a bit trite. Would love to see it again with other performers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
6 stars
attended Aug 11 2013

Small intimate theater, superb acting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 08 2011

The performances were outstanding. The production has moments of comedy, hope, sadness, drama, lots of love, questioning. This play is fabulous, I highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Sep 24 2011

The play was great, but the real highlight was Garbo (played by Lina Hall). Her acting was fantastic and she really commanded the stage. Her energy was very Garboesque and it was like watching a true movie star.

I'd recommend this to anyone,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Oct 23 2011

This is our third play by Odalys Nanin that we've watched at the Macha Theater. We were celebrating two of our dear friends' birthdays this particular day and watched Garbo's Cuban Lover.

Odalys has a true gift of making her stories come to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Oct 09 2011

Very interesting subject matter about fascinating women. Performances varied. Mercedes De Acosta was excellent. Garbo was good. Isadore Duncan was fun.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 2 3 5 next