1597851 firebird 101711

Russian Masters

Spreckels Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

19 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
69 events
39 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 06 2011

Liked most everything. Good dancing and wonderful music. The second solo with piano was a little slow, but everything else was wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
14 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 06 2011

I'm a strong supporter of City Ballet and I prefer their Balanchine and more modern programs, getting bored with the traditional and classical material. Firebird and the Pas de Deux choreographed by Balanchine were great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
11 reviews
9 stars
attended Nov 04 2011

The seats were center and eight rows behind the orchestra the first seven rows were empty and so that gave us a wonderful view of also the ballet of which was wonderful. The first performance was unique and my favorite, the second, a pas de duex...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 06 2011

The best is saved for last, so if you are tempted to leave after the first intermission, or even the second, you'll miss out on the featured dance, "The Firebird".
The temptation might arise as a result of the drab black & white costumes and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 06 2011

The ballet was excellent and full of energy.
Dancers were beyond expectation.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

I enjoyed the ballet very much and had excellent seats, thanks to Goldstar. The Spreckles itself is getting a bit tired... time for an overhaul!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

The performance was very enjoyable. The dancers were terrific as was the orchestra. The Spreckels Theatre is a beautiful old classic theatre, perfect for the ballet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 04 2011

The venue was spectacular and it was a lovely evening all in all. This was my first experience with Goldstar and I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of use. The quality of the dance was disappointing however it was adequate.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

We really enjoy the perfomance and had excellent seats.

star this review starred report as inappropriate