Closeup-100813

Messiah ... Refreshed!

Avery Fisher Hall (New York, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

73 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 54
    5
  • 11
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    1
AdC
20 events
19 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Great experience!Fantastic conductor, orchestra and choir. A wonderful way to celebrate Christ the King!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
11 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

The Messiah was tired. I kept waiting for the "refreshed" part, but decided I must be at the wrong show. Yes, I know it's a long choral piece, and that the famous Chorus... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Andrea G Red Velvet
8 events
4 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

It was a full concert, with a classical orchestra and accompanied singers. There were soloist as well as a choir of about 100 people.

I enjoyed the event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
18 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

This was one of the best interpretations of The Messiah that we have seen. The chorus was in very fine voice, and the musicians and featured singers were terrific.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
12 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Well orchestrated and performed by a very professional orchestra and choral. Music in sync with instruments and audience in full rapture

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
11 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

A nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Lovely performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

large chorus + large orchestra = 1st rate performance. one of the best i've seen over the years.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

I'm glad I went because now I know for sure that I do not like Handel's music. I wanted to know if it was just his operas that I didn't like but I also don't like his oratorio. My friends enjoyed it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
3 stars
10 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

We had a really lovely time. However, we did not get the Orchestra seats which were offered--although purchased. Regardless of that, it was definitely worth seeing and hearing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

Performance was enjoyable but the 2 busloads of people that were let in to find their seats in the dark an hour after the show started was distracting and annoying.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
67 events
37 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

Wonderful concert. Excellent seats for the Goldstar price.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
17 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Music was good, specially the choir, but the voices of the soloists were sometimes soft, taken over by the sound of the orchestra. Also, latecomers were allowed to come in at the middle of performance- very distracting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
16 reviews
4 stars
38 events
13 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

Lincoln Center's Alice Tully hall is magnificent and the orchestra was great. the chorus was so large they couldn't all fit on stage. Recommend it highly.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Beautiful music - well performed

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
9 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Music was very good. Haven't heard the Messiah in its entirety in a long time. Soloists were great, even though baritone could have been louder. The audience needed... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

A sheer holiday tradition and pure joy.The performance was exceptional.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
8 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 25 2012

Seats were excellent - in the middle of the 1st Tier. Musicians, Soloists and Chorus were great. I've wanted to see Handel's Messiah in its entirety for some time. Glad to have finally seen it and loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
7 reviews
10 stars
attended Dec 01 2013

I've seen this production 3 consecutive years and I love it more each time. The pace was just right and the large presentation is just beyond excellent. I recommend this... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3