Smuin 090712

Smuin Ballet's 2012-2013 Fall/Winter Program

Palace of Fine Arts Theatre (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

119 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 68
    5
  • 38
    4
  • 11
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
524 events
212 reviews
-5 stars
attended Oct 06 2012

This wonderful company continues to amaze. They really set the bar high for themselves and the entire ballet/dance community. Another flawless, stunning production.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
17 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

Loved this whole performance! Loved the modern development added and extending the Ballet Dance Experience. Well worth seeing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
7 reviews
14 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

Wonderful dancers, interesting choreography - very contemporary ballet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
6 reviews
10 stars
Bill Ward Red Velvet
19 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 12 2012

Smuin never fails to please me with talented dancers, beautiful choreography, and amazing presentation (lighting, costumes, sound, etc.)

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
9 events
3 reviews
8 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

Incredible athleticism, excellent choreography, diverse themes, and wonderful music.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
2 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

Beautiful, fabulous choreography

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
2 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

I had high expectations, but was a little disappointed. It was just too contemporary for me.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
238 events
60 reviews
8 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

love the Place of fine arts. Not a bad seat in the house and perfect for viewing Smuin. Very well done though I do miss Smuin's touch. I particularly liked the piece choreographed by the man from Lousiville. Very clever

star this review starred report as inappropriate
53 events
37 reviews
62 stars
attended Oct 06 2012

Lovely dancing, beautiful venue!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
carole
46 events
34 reviews
16 stars
attended Oct 05 2012

I was quite dissappointed in the lack of originality and diversity in the performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
28 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 06 2012

Cold virtues set to philip glass' music was brilliant. The other pieces are a bit lackluster, absent of intensity and the modern ballet movements are a bit out of place set to gipsy king and the shins. shins.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
65 events
28 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

The Smuin dancers are extremely accomplished. I thought the program was repetitive in its movements and themes. For instance, not once but three times there was a solo male dancer in a bathing suit. The group work was more interesting, but even...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
19 reviews
11 stars
28 events
18 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 11 2012

Wonderful variety of contemporary ballet and beautifully danced.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
17 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 11 2012

We generally enjoyed the program but could have done with one less intermission. The Philip Glass number was particularly enthralling.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
14 reviews
13 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

best smuin performance i've seen yet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
14 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

The Smuin Fall Program showing at the Palace of Fine Arts Theater was wonderful. Not your grandma's ballet -- and very enjoyable! This theater is fairly small. We had 'bronze' tickets and our seats were great. There is free parking nearby with a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
13 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

This is totally manageable dance. Great variety of styles, great dancers, inspiring and enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
12 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 11 2012

Pleasant, not exciting dance - repetitive - indecipherable narratives

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4