Metamorphoses 920

Metamorphoses

Arena Stage - Fichandler (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

63 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 30
    5
  • 25
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 3
    2
  • 0
    1
16 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 20 2013

It was great. Very interesting and definitely different.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
SMJ
47 events
8 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 08 2013

Very good acting; both comedic and dramatic stories; don't sit near the front if you don't want to get wet!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
7 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 15 2013

I saw this show when it first came out in 1999-- and haven't missed a show by Mary Zimmerman since then (she won the MacArthur genius award for this work). It weaves poetry, creativity, and storytelling. And it's done in a pool of water, what...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 09 2013

One incredible production, in every way imaginable! Great fun, and great stimulation for both mind and imagination.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
6 reviews
13 stars
attended Feb 10 2013

It was fun and interesting. A new way to look at Greek poetry.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 24 2013

Saw the original Lookingglass production in Chicago and last year's Source/Constellation production in DC. This was one of the best three productions of Metamorphoses that I have seen.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
6 reviews
16 stars
attended Feb 16 2013

Well staged, acted, & much of it was delightful, but some very kitchy/silly skits that were not up to the standard set by the rest. some people thought they were funny, I thought they were stupid. I'd give it a B- overall.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
5 reviews
57 stars
attended Feb 10 2013

For most of the show, I was bored. Fortunately, a few portrayals of the stories by Ovid captured my attention due to fascinating presentations. The cast worked well as an ensemble with each person successfully playing their different characters....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 08 2013

Excellent performance! Very visual and entertaining. The Arena Stage is wonderful too.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
18 stars
attended Feb 17 2013

The actors did a great job. The show was interesting, although I don't think that I would want to see it more than once. Apparently if you have front row seats you should prepare to get wet!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 17 2013

It was a very interesting presenation of the play. I think it might help viewers if they Google Ovid and have an idea of the different myths that are touched on. It was well worth seeing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 16 2013

Seamless presentation. A more serious production than I've seen before but very effective.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 08 2013

While I liked revisiting the ancient myths in such a visual and interwoven way, I kept asking myself - "Why is this in water"? It seemed "gimmicky" to me

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 10 2013

Amazing performance. All at once, thoughtful, sad, intense and funny, Gorgeously designed and directed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 08 2013

Firstly, Arena stage was the perfect venue for this play. Every single seat has a clear view of the stage and becuase it is a small theatre and the stage is set in the middle, everyone is really close to the action.

The play was pretty...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 10 2013

I was transended to another time in a far away land. I happily dwelled there,hanging on to every fable until the very end. Bravo!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 13 2013

It's a lovely production...a few slip ups as it's early in the run and a great balancing act between theatre in the round, water, props, slipping, etc. Beautiful performances and a great opportunity to see Zimmerman's production of her own work.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Feb 20 2013

One of the best evening's entertainment. The movement in and out of the water was perfectly choreographed and fascinating to experience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 12 2013

This is a beautiful and meditative production. My only negative observation is that some of the dialogue was hard to hear when the actors were addressing a different part of the theater-in-the-round and their backs were facing us.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
2 reviews
5 stars
attended Feb 17 2013

well acted and very creative staging!

star this review starred report as inappropriate