Russian nutcracker 20121

Great Russian Nutcracker

George Mason University's Center for the Arts (Fairfax, VA)

Reviews & Ratings

26 ratings
4.1 average rating
  • 11
    5
  • 7
    4
  • 8
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
8 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

The music was okay but canned. The stage was bare: the set was screens behind dancers and acrobats. The performers were adequate, but the whole thing was far from dazzling. It lacked the wonder of Christmas that you would expect from the ballet....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

Russian ballet to Russian music, pre-recorded; seemed very slow and unlike other Nutcrackers from the past; 2nd half had spectacular ballet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

I expected a better quality performance from a Russian ballet troupe. The quality of the dancers and the dancing was uneven and the ballerina who played Clara was 20 years too old for the part and past her prime in the quality of her dancing. ...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

The dancing was really great but the sets were rather amateurish. Also it felt very mechanical and didn't have much heart in it. But I still enjoyed the dancing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

I loved the ballet. It was the first one my 3 daughters and I have ever attended so I don't have anything to compare it to, but we all thought it was magical.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
16 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

We really enjoyed this show. The first half was a bit slow and uninteresting, but the second half more than made up for it. I was disappointed that Masha (Clara) was played by an adult dancer though. Great seats from Goldstar - front row!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
43 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

Good costumes. Disappointing prerecorded music, played too loud. Uneven talent among the dancers: some excellent, some pretty weak (or at least unenthusiastic). The leads were very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

Beautiful! The dancers were superb -- and the costumes were magnificent (esp the "King of the Mice").

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
1 stars
6 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

I missed the presence of a live orchestra and was disappointed that the ballet was set to audio recording.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

I very much like the Moscow ballet. The perfomance was exellent however there was no live music. We had a very hard time finding the building, parking was terrible, they charged $8 upfront cash or check. When we finally got there we were 20...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

The sets and costumes were gorgeous and the dancing incredible. It was a spectacular production.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

The ballet was excellent. In particular the Dove of Peace and Arabian Pas De Deux in Act 2 were amazing.

There was a charge for parking and getting into the parking garage was very congested. So give yourself some extra time if you are...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

Amazing show! Goldstar gave me great seats. Certainly will book thru Goldstar again!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

I loved it!!! I had never been to a ballet and this seemed like the perfect first time event!!!! Everything about it was beautiful and amazing!!!! Can't wait to see it again in the future!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

It was nice. The costumes were beautiful but it was a smaller production than I expected. The music was not live.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

The performance was amazing, excellent techniques, great decorations and costumes. The Russian classic ballet remains the best.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

The seats were awesome. Four rows from the front of center stage. The performance was very professional. The costumes were bright and colorful with lots of sparkle.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

This was a different variation of the Nutcracker than what I had see several years ago. We loved it! The talent of the dancers and the costumes were fantastic. If you want a different version of the Nutcracker, go see the Moscow Ballet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1