Wcyg christmas carol

A Christmas Carol

Cygnet at Old Town Theatre (San Diego, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

67 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 49
    5
  • 13
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    1
6 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 28 2012

This play will put you into the Christmas Spirit. Loved everything about it, they did such a good job. Don't let the season go by without taking the time to see this production. Love it, Love it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
148 events
87 reviews
45 stars
16 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 02 2012

This was a wonderful presentation. The setting, of a 1944 radio station, was delightful including the fact that the cast members were dressed in that period clothing. The "acting" was superb and if you closed your eyes it was like listening to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Dec 08 2012

Brought my son and grandsons (6 & 8 year olds) to the show...and we all loved it! I think the "radio show" format kept things moving so that both kiddos were enthralled. I'd like go back and see it again with the rest of our family!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
84 events
52 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 08 2012

We enjoyed this show very much. Scrooge and the sound effects man were standouts - but everyone did an excellent job. The music was also excellent. A very enjoyable performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
43 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 19 2012

A wonderful, well acted experience. I love that the actors did act and use their voices for a radio play. All of them, including the narrator, were superb. The radio commercials were hilarious. The cygnet theatre is one of my favorites in San Diego.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
29 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 24 2012

A wonderful show. I love when they do a radio show, it's very fun to watch. We've seen all three. This is one of the best theatre groups in San Diego. And, we go to the Globe and La Jolla. A real gift. I just wish more people would attend. They...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
14 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 06 2012

Highly audience engaging...I felt I was IN the radio studio with the actors! Scrooge and the sound effects man were particularly good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
SD Carol
16 events
11 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 08 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the play. Actors did a great job. I would not recommend it for young children. Since it is a live radio format,it was hard to keep the children's attention.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 16 2012

Almost full house. Great production. Very entertaining. No bad seati in house. Sound production person very talented. Parking at theater parking lot. Great festive event for the holidays. For adults. Kids may not enjoy.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
8 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 28 2012

Great show. The Cynget Theatre is a small intimate theatre and there is not a bad seat in the house. The show was great and seeing how the sound effects were made was really fun.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 29 2012

We really enjoyed "A Christmas Carol." It was the well-known story of Scrooge brought to life in a Live Radio format that took place on Christmas Eve 1944. All of the actors were fantastic, particularly Tom Stephenson, David McBean and Maggie...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 29 2012

A new twist to a very old story. Very well done

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
6 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 02 2012

Great fun, as always! We've seen "It's A Wonderful LIfe" three times, and were sorry to see it go, but this is a fine replacement! Just as engaging and fun, and Mr. Scrooge is a winner! Take your family and get in the holiday "spirit"!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 08 2012

Highly recommend! Story is told in setting of live radio show - must be willing to use your imagination as one actor will play multiple characters. May not be best for small children as a few times it got fairly loud and could be frightening to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 15 2012

It was much more than what we expected. What a refreshing twist to the tale. The "sound effects" actor was delightful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 13 2012

Loved it!!! Our friends did too. Would see it again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 26 2012

Old Town was crowded with tourists because of the holidays and football game, but the theater provided a great diversion. The acting was very good, as was the staging. Nice breaks were provided by having 'radio commercials'.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 24 2012

THIS IS A WONDERFUL, FAMILY HOLIDAY SHOW! All of the actors
were perfect in their roles, the sound effects were fun and it was just an overall wonderful experience! It really put us in the holiday spirit!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 09 2012

Wonderful cast! Delightful production! A great night out for our entire family - from 13 to 55, we all had an amazing evening!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3