Fail 121211 goldstar

Failure: A Love Story

Victory Gardens Zacek McVay Theater (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

21 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 14
    5
  • 5
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
62 events
53 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 30 2012

A truly great show. Very ofiginal. I will seek out this playwrite. All the actors were astoundingly skilled. I can't say enough.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
321 events
29 reviews
37 stars
Andrea L
182 events
92 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 22 2012

It was pretty simplistic.

Talented cast, very creative multi-media, imaginative, upbeat, even slightly thought-provoking. But I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who likes serious theatre...it's hard to find anything un-cute at this time of year.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
67 events
24 reviews
42 stars
attended Dec 30 2012

This was a delightful play. It was light-hearted and somber at once. Loved the witty and inventive use of language in the script. The actors were all very good (and versatile!) Highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
12 reviews
11 stars
attended Dec 27 2012

Performances from multi-talented actors was very impressive!
The music was also lovely.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
11 reviews
8 stars
attended Dec 22 2012

clever beyond words, creative, talented people, but......I would not recommend it for the ordinary theatre going person. It was much too long without an intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
11 reviews
15 stars
attended Dec 26 2012

Despite the subject matter, very light-hearted. Was a little slow going at first but then took off. The period humor (1920's Chicago) translated nicely to our contemporary world. Was an enjoyable evening. Very well acted.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
29 events
8 reviews
300 stars
attended Dec 28 2012

Beautifully written and performed. Wonderful show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 23 2012

I have seen a lot of plays this year, and this was by far the best. My boyfriend felt the same way. It's poignant, funny, and done in a very creative way with a minimum of props and scenery. Don't miss this one.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 22 2012

A fun quick paced dialogue with a cast that shines. The intimate theatre upstairs at the Biograph only added to a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 22 2012

My friend said this was the best play she ever saw in her life. I was empressed by the versatility and craftmanship of the actors. Very humorous and entertaining.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 30 2012

The play was great and the variety of roles played by the actors/actresses was phenomenal. We loved the action, singing, humor and set.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2012

Both my wife and I enjoyed Failure. There was no intermission, but it did not need one. The venue is small and intimate so there is not a bad seat in the house.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 22 2012

Eclectic and engaging, making very light of a potentially morbid theme. We were engrossed to the very last moment. The music was terrific and the laughs plentiful. Kudos to the actor playing the snake

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 28 2012

great story, terrific staging, great plot, terriffic play, great actors(actresses, terric story line of how we all" must move on" after the death of a loved one, great alternate casting(one of the sisters is darker than the othe r2 white sisters),...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 15 2012

A friend and I had a wonderful time at this event. It was funny. It was heart-felt. It was tremendously entertaining.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 29 2012

I enjoyed the creative structure of the play. Characters turned into narrators and vice versa. Well presented and acted.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 29 2012

this well acted and staged show will help to get the discussion
of death in our society out of the closet and onto the national
stage. we need to have this discussion. we're spending too much
of our national treasure in the last two weeks of...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate