Sunsetblvd 102912

Sunset Boulevard

Drury Lane Theatre (Oakbrook Terrace, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

135 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 59
    5
  • 51
    4
  • 18
    3
  • 4
    2
  • 3
    1
29 events
7 reviews
11 stars
attended Feb 02 2013

Fine retelling of the Norma Desmond story. Loved the operatic voices, and thought the sets were tremendously creative, especially the headlines and film montages. But the star of the show, of course, was that gorgeous car!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 25 2013

The production was very well done, but the story line itself is very dark - so I can't say I loved it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
6 reviews
8 stars
attended Feb 09 2013

Drury Lane's musicals are always packed with talent, and they are therefore worth seeing. Sunset Boulevard, which I had never seen before except for the original film noir movie, from which this musical is derived, is quite a dark story, and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
6 reviews
16 stars
attended Feb 03 2013

I guess i really didnt know much about this play except that it was famous. I thought it moved kind of slow and i didnt like that every word was sung (except for a few lines) the acting and singing was really good though!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Feb 03 2013

It was very creative, well directed and well acted. The music was first rate.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
6 reviews
7 stars
attended Jan 30 2013

The performance was very good; the play, itself, kind of dated. I should have known better, but I was curious. It was unsettling listening to dialog sung instead of spoken.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
9 stars
7 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 13 2013

Play was a bit slow in first act but picked up in 2nd act

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Virginia Baez
8 events
5 reviews
11 stars
attended Feb 22 2013

This was a great play. I would definately recommend this play to others. Excellent performances by all! The actress that played Norma Desmond (lead) was excellent!

Loved the play, outstanding!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Jan 31 2013

Fabulous production...thoroughly enjoyed every moment..the acting was superb...Norma Desmond awesome! I'm recommending it to all my friends.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 10 2013

i saw singing in the rain just recently which i thought was very good. this was much better.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 26 2013

Least of my favorite musicals.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 31 2013

Not really a score you will be humming the next day, but the performances and production were great. Faithful to the story in the movie.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 23 2013

Show was excellent especially seeing it the night before the Oscars. Acting very professional. Seats were great ... Drury Lane is a very fine venue for a show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 27 2013

The actors are very talented, with wonderful voices - I'd give them 4 stars. My issues with the performance were that the microphone volume was too high and the lighting cast too many shadows on faces. The other issues were with ALW and the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Jan 30 2013

The music and actors were all great.....the leading lady and her 'friend' were terrific.
The only thing we don't like is coming to the theater and sitting around people who have strong perfume on. It is sicking and we want to move our seats...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 22 2013

The performances. were very good. I particularly enjoyed Dara!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
14 stars
attended Feb 20 2013

The singing was gorgeous as was the scenery, but the first act was slow. The second was very good. Not one of Drury Lanes best plays.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 26 2013

uggg we did not know this story so i am sure that was a big factor but the singing was just awful! they hit notes (loudly) that should never escape their lips! several times i was flinching in pain!
if you go- don't worry about arriving an hour...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 02 2013

Very good theater. Good musical.

star this review starred report as inappropriate