Selected-shorts-langston-hughes-920

Selected Shorts: Langston Hughes

Peter Jay Sharp Theater, Symphony Space (New York City, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
47 events
22 reviews
21 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

Great evening of "Acted Short Stories"

star this review starred report as inappropriate
39 events
19 reviews
15 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

Excellent performances by all 3 actors. Each imbued his/her Langston Hughes short story with personal style and an abundance of talent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
12 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

The popular public radio show recorded live in Symphony Space on upper west side- by 1-2-3 subway stop. Great readers/performers who presented the 3 short stories. Though this was a one-time event, they do these readings periodically. Delightful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

Hadn't been to Symphony Space in many years and what a great program to return on. One of the better readings we've been to....but then, how can you go wrong with great stories from Langston Hughes?

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

The readings were superb. The Readers did a phenomenal job. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

The program, and the readers, were excellent -- all Selected Shorts programs are worthwhile.
Symphony Space venue is user-friendly. The box office was very helpful in... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

It was GREAT readings of Langston Hughes's beautiful short stories. The actors made the readings come alive and dance.
Thanks for a great evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

A delightful evening with a delightful host, delightful performers and great works.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
attended Apr 03 2013

I liked the work of all the performers very much as well as the last of the three short stories, Spanish Blood. I thought the other two story choices were less good,... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

The seating was intimate and very comfortable. The actors were fantastic story tellers! It was a great way to end a day of work.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
1 stars
3 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Apr 03 2013

The production consisted of 3 of Langston Hughes' short works. Each performer brought the piece to life in their own way. I sat there thinking how I would have done a verse or two differently. But all in all , I found them thoroughly enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate