2828430-brighton-beach-memoirs-920

Brighton Beach Memoirs

Raven Theatre East Stage (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

51 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 26
    5
  • 18
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 2
    1
Paul Red Velvet
30 events
15 reviews
15 stars
attended May 01 2013

Cleverly staged and delivered with charm - characters and performances were engaging. The mother and the narrator were two standouts. Very enjoyable!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
62 events
12 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 30 2013

Excellent! Witty, touching, great acting. Fabulous set.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
12 reviews
11 stars
attended Jun 06 2013

Loved the format of this story with Eugene's overview breaking through the scenes. The kid was wonderful—and so was everyone else.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
7 reviews
13 stars
attended May 05 2013

We did NOT enjoy this performance....
We really did not enjoy the actors.
We left at intermission.
The people at the theater could not be more accommodating & everyone was wonderful
to us and our special needs.
Thanks for that.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
j
141 events
66 reviews
12 stars
attended May 01 2013

Warm and funny story of playwriter's childhood. Excellent cast and direction. Good set. Easy parking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
32 reviews
2 stars
attended May 01 2013

I thought the performances were very good (especially Kate, Jack and Stan) but overall, the play was very, very slow. I've seen BBM before and remembered it being more... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
21 reviews
8 stars
attended May 09 2013

Good family relations tale. Acting was terrific. Only downfall is the amplification
of some of the actors. Set design was good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
16 reviews
13 stars
attended Jun 02 2013

This is a wonderful play, expertly performed, with a fine cast, great set (kudos to the director and set manager). Thanks to Raven for reviving this play, which holds up very well indeed. I encourage everyone over 25 to see this play!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
15 reviews
9 stars
attended Jun 13 2013

BRIGHTON BEACH MEMOIRS by Neil Simon – Raven Theater, (773) 338-2177 – raventheatre.com – 6157 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60660 , Cross Streets: Between W Hood Ave and W... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
75 events
14 reviews
21 stars
attended Jun 13 2013

Wonderful heartwarming heartfelt performances. Incredible set design. Highly recommended night at the theater.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
8 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 30 2013

Fantastic play! Great acting! Great story!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Jerry & Elaine
9 events
7 reviews
3 stars
attended May 25 2013

This play was one of the best play's that we have seen for a long time. tje performances were great, the set design was great, and the story was well portrayed. I think... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
5 reviews
8 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

Another fine production by the Raven Theatre. The casting was superb and the actors believable. The staging was also very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended May 17 2013

We really enjoy it!! Its one of the best shows we saw this season!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Linda
7 events
4 reviews
10 stars
attended Jun 16 2013

Great play and excellent production. The actor that is cast as Eugene is refreshingly funny! If you haven't seen it you should.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 07 2013

It was a brilliant performance by 6 great actors! Bravo!!
The Raven Theatre is a wonderful small theatre.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
4 reviews
11 stars
attended May 24 2013

Lots of good clean humor and a talented cast. My only objection was the seat I took, front row to the left. I did not know that there was an L-shaped stage and I was getting a kink in my neck trying to see the action to my right.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
15 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended May 30 2013

Solid acting and beautiful sets.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended May 25 2013

This play was terrific! Both the acting and the script were wonderful. I highly recommend it for families, ages adult and up.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended May 01 2013

We loved Brighton Beach Memoirs! It was really well done and funny. And the set was so well thought out, it really added to the flow and spontaneity of the performances. Good job all!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1