Color purple goldstar

The Color Purple

Mercury Theater (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

159 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 133
    5
  • 19
    4
  • 4
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 2
    1
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 16 2013

It was awesome and a great depiction of the movie in musical form!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

It was easy to get the tickets. The seat was very good and the
Color Purple was wonderful. It was a very enjoyable afternoon.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 17 2013

It was Faboulous...Singing and Acting was Excellent..Bravo...

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

It was great. The play, the singing, and the emotion was captivating.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

It was wonderful! The staff were polite and the cast were phenomenal!!! The vocals of the cast exceeded my expectations and the comedy was refreshing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
3 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Loved the intimate venue. The acting was also wonderful

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
1 review
9 stars
attended Aug 29 2013

The Color Purple was fantastic..... Great performances and the voices were incredible.... A great cast that puts their heart into the play.... A must see.......great theater connected to two awesome restaurants.....

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 30 2013

THE COLOR PURPLE WAS FANTASTIC. I WAS A LITTLE LEERY, BECAUSE I WASN'T FORMULAR WITH THE CAST. BUT, THEY WERE AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL. I REALLY , REALLY, ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE.
THE SEATING WAS GREAT.
THANKS,
ELNORA

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 07 2013

The entire production was excellent!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

The musical was fantastic. The actors had such powerful voices. Very moving performance. I would highly recommend!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Aug 28 2013

The production of The Color Purple was exhilarating and refreshingly full of rhythm and life! The cast performed amazingly well in synch with one another, exemplifying excellent choreography.
There was no big "I" and little "you" in this...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

This is the best Broadway production I have seen yet. In my opinion it was better then book of Mormon. I wish it would of ran longer so I could of taken my mother. The singing was amazing and there was not a bad seat in the house.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
8 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 06 2013

This musical was way more than I expected!!! I saw many of the elements from the movie and the book...well blended!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

This production was thoroughly enjoyable - an excellent cast with outstanding voices. My group loved the music and the creative, simplistic staging. So many great songs!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Sep 26 2013

This was an outstanding performance. I loved it! I can't wait for their return.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 17 2013

This was one of the best plays I have seen all year - outstanding!

I loved this play - the acting and singing was outstanding!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 06 2013

Wasn't what i expected, but none the less they did a great Job. I respect the arts GREATLY so Understood the direction in which they choose to take their rendition of the book/movie. A lil CHURCHY but Id recommend it to friends

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Oct 09 2013

We didn't like the play at all. The advertising of the storyline was very misleading. It was depressing and off-color. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. In no way was this a story about "love" as it is marketed - it was a story of a poor...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate