Rapture blister burn 920

Rapture, Blister, Burn

Geffen Playhouse - Gil Cates Theater (Los Angeles, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

222 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 130
    5
  • 56
    4
  • 19
    3
  • 12
    2
  • 5
    1
71 events
25 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 01 2013

The characters were not realistic. The play seemed contrived and was not funny. The actor's voices were shrill. It was hard to hear some of the lines. It was very hot in the mezzanine.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
60 events
20 reviews
35 stars
attended Sep 01 2013

GREAT show... a lot to think about later. Our seats were just terrific and appreciated. Goldstar is the best.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
19 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 20 2013

I went with two friends. It was unanimous, we all loved it. It reminded me somewhat of the "Heidi Chronicles" from a while ago. Can a woman have both a successful career and be a wife and mother? Lots of laughs and good acting. A must see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Em
41 events
19 reviews
9 stars
attended Sep 01 2013

Just ok. Not a very good script. Actors were excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
17 reviews
36 stars
attended Aug 20 2013

The dialogue was witty, smart and timeless. The acting--sets and venue wonderful. This show is better than many currently on Broadway!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
16 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 11 2013

Enjoyed the performance. Great subject matter, very good performers. Enjoyed the 2nd half even more once I asked for and received a hearing device. Highly recommend hearing aids, given the amount of dialog.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
16 reviews
4 stars
attended Aug 20 2013

Terrific play. Very funny, well-written and genuinely thought provoking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
77 events
15 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

Amusing and educational -- a short history of feminism in the last 6 decades, with good acting and lots of funny lines.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Valerie Schwartz
56 events
14 reviews
42 stars
attended Sep 03 2013

Great performances, story, staging etc. Provocative subject matter too. Thought provoking. And I enjoyed Talk Back Tues. with the cast.
Go!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
14 reviews
11 stars
attended Aug 28 2013

I loved the play. Very well written. It is a must see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
14 reviews
13 stars
attended Sep 07 2013

The play was terrific! We both thoroughly enjoyed it. The story was very well told, very well acted, very funny and very poignant. The Geffen is a beautiful theatre with a plethora of restaurants around in the Westwood area. Would highly...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
13 reviews
19 stars
attended Aug 30 2013

Great seats for a terrific show! The writer fully captures the differences of the women of three generations. Funny, thought-provoking and extremely well acted.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
DTD
36 events
12 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 20 2013

Fantastic play with great performances from the entire cast! It gets you thinking about what it means to be a feminist and months later, I am still pondering that question. Very thought-provoking!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
12 reviews
17 stars
attended Sep 12 2013

This play is wonderful - the acting is superb and the subject matter is extremely current and relevant to woman of all ages. Absolutely loved this play. Also, thanks to Goldstar, we had fabulous seats in the mezzanine "box" - which was front row...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
DTD
36 events
12 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 20 2013

Well-written play about the evolution of feminism. Wonderful cast led by Amy Brenneman and great sets made this a standout production. Must-see!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
11 reviews
27 stars
attended Sep 07 2013

difficult to hear in mezzanine.

too talky

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
11 reviews
5 stars
attended Sep 18 2013

Good play. Acting was excellent

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
11 reviews
14 stars
attended Aug 25 2013

It was fabulous!!! Fantastic writing!!! Hilarious!!!! Seats were great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
11 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 18 2013

Overall I enjoyed the play and would recommend it to women only.
The first act was a little slow.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Pam Korduner
37 events
11 reviews
0 stars
attended Aug 18 2013

very well written and acted. brings up lots of good issues.

star this review starred report as inappropriate