2901484 war horse 920 2

War Horse

Hollywood Pantages (Hollywood, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

100 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 75
    5
  • 16
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 4
    2
  • 0
    1
25 events
12 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 11 2013

War Horse is a wonderful and touching story, with fantastic effects such as live puppetry and an excellent incorporation of a video backdrop. The staging is simple, but the storyline is so engaging that it works well. If you have an opportunity,...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
11 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

Incredible production! The horses and their movements looked so real!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
llllucky1
18 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 11 2013

The theatre was beautiful! Show was well done and very interesting.. I drove from San Francisco and it was a highlight of my trip~

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
8 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the show. The horses are amazing. The only bad thing was the seats. If you suffer from claustrophobia avoid the back of the orchestra. Very uncomfortable, felt like sardines in a can.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
59 events
7 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

The puppeteering is so amazing that it alone is worth the price of the ticket. One almost forgets that people standing next to the puppets are controlling the actions of the wire-frame horses.

In contrast, the dialog does a poor job of...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
6 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

Amazingly creative!!!!!!!!!! The hoses look and "act" incredibly realistically!!!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Eileen Fielding
13 events
6 reviews
8 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

It was good. The horses did a great job. I didn't understand their accent

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

Not your happy go lucky night at the theater with big production numbers and song. This was a fantastic multimedia theater experience. Not my type of musical but I still appreciated the artistry and great production of this beloved story.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 10 2013

The seats were amazing. The play itself was enjoyable. The second act was a little long. I would definitely recommend going to see this!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 09 2013

What can you say.. A wonderful production and The Pantages stands as a grand old dame! Ez access via metro link

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
5 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

Fantastic show. Pure theatre. You know a show is good when the curtain call is not complete untill the puppet takes a bow.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

Getting there: Parking near the Pantages $10 with easy in/out. Picking up tickets at the will-call was a snap and the seats provided (front row mezz) we're great. Appreciate that the lower bar at the Pantages is well stocked and takes credit...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

My parents loved It! The seats were great-8th row-so they could see well even without binoculars. I had enjoyed it when it was at the Ahmanson so wanted them to see it. An awesome experience!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

I can't believe how great our seats were! And the show was amazing! I loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 10 2013

The horse felt very alive on stage!
Amazing light design and very intense plot!
It's a world of imagination!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

The play was brilliant - great staging and music. Assigned seating was horrible. The theatre was 1/3 empty yet the audience were all jammed in one central section that has minimal elevation from row to row. Once we moved into empty seats on the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
4 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

What a fantastic show! Beautiful & creative staging, wonderfully dramatic music & terrific story! Don't miss it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

8 rows back and center, these were great tickets!!!!

The show was SPECTACULAR. Excellent voices, magical costumes, props and set design. A definite must see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

excellent..wonderful seats...the play a masterpiece no complaints

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 10 2013

It would have been nice if we could have seen the stage. We were 1 row from the back of the theater. Very disappointed since we thought level 2 tickets would have gotten us to at least the middle row!

star this review starred report as inappropriate