Torch song trilogy 920

Torch Song Trilogy

Studio Theatre (Washington, DC)

Reviews & Ratings

61 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 53
    5
  • 6
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
93 events
36 reviews
93 stars
attended Sep 14 2013

I could (and just may) go see this play again. It is a brilliant piece of writing: intelligent, witty, and moving. The protagonist, Arnold, who is extraordinarily well-played to the point the actor IS Arnold, will win your heart. This is a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
135 events
27 reviews
18 stars
attended Sep 05 2013

A great night at the theater: a great play, excellent direction, outstanding sets, wonderful performances by the principle actors, and a beyond wonderful performance by Brandon Uranowitz.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
45 events
17 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 08 2013

Great show. Brandon Uranowitz was outstanding.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
14 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 05 2013

Excellent! One of the best plays I have ever seen...!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
13 reviews
12 stars
attended Sep 08 2013

Did not go as realized too late that all sorts of roads in DC were closed due to Tr1athlon

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
13 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 12 2013

I had not seen the play and had trepidation when I heard to the length. It flew by and was masterful. Fabulous dialogue and acting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Sep 10 2013

a remnant of a bygone era best left on the shelf. go for the acting, leave early for the ennui.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Sharon Red Velvet
89 events
6 reviews
15 stars
attended Sep 08 2013

Excellent production. The lead actor was especially noteworthy; reminded me of Harvey Fierstein when I saw him in the play in the early 80s. An historical document but still timely.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 05 2013

The show was fantastic -- with a really wonderful ensemble cast. It only receives a 4 from me because it is a pretty big commitment (3.5 hours) and the theatre was freezing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 04 2013

Beautifully acted, with a very well-written script. The theater is small enough that any seat is a great seat. Highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 14 2013

This production was phenomenal! I haven't seen anything this good on a stage in years.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
28 reviews
16 stars
attended Sep 06 2013

Powerful performances. For a 3+ hour 3 act play it went surprisingly fast. Sets are wonderful. The story line is strong and relevant today.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
G.
27 events
22 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 12 2013

Excellent acting by all, but Brandon Uranowitz is marvelous!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
16 reviews
6 stars
attended Sep 04 2013

Incredible show! The lead is superb! This is a MUST SEE!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
14 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 14 2013

Before you buy your tickets, know that the play has three acts and take about three and a half hours to perform (with two ten-minute intermissions). If you are not a night owl, you may want to avoid the 8PM performances. But, no matter when you...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
13 reviews
18 stars
attended Sep 06 2013

A funny but sad play. The play is dated but it is amazing how much has changed since the play first opened . It is long runs 3 hours but well worth it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
13 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 06 2013

You won't notice the long run time because this fast-paced show has lots of excitement and humor and drama. If you're a fan of the film, Act 1 & 3 are nearly identical, Act 2 is a new adventure. No "whoops" here. Go see it, twice, or more!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
8 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 04 2013

Fun show, good performances but good luck finding parking.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
DCFoodie
20 events
8 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 04 2013

Hands down the best show I've seen this year. The lead actor was amazing. Love, love, loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
8 reviews
7 stars
attended Sep 04 2013

I'd long wanted to see the play, and this performance made it worth the wait. All the actors are good -- and the lead ("Arnold," the Harvey Fierstein character) is entirely "fabulous"!
Caution -- Running time is 3-1/2 hours, so be sure your...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1