Waituntildark goldstar 920x520 2

Wait Until Dark

Geffen Playhouse - Gil Cates Theater (Los Angeles, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

133 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 62
    5
  • 44
    4
  • 20
    3
  • 5
    2
  • 2
    1
10 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 10 2013

Gerffen Theater is in a safe, busy neighborhood and parking is convenient. There are many restaurants around the area so getting in early and having dinner nearby can be part of the theater experience.
The theater itself is intimate so there are...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
7 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 07 2013

Great show - very suspenseful and fun to watch. Paid for front mezzanine but got seated in row J of the orchestra - seats were amazing!
Would absolutely recommend!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
55 events
6 reviews
19 stars
attended Oct 24 2013

It was terrific, the lead actress was so convinencing , you forgot you were watching a play. Her emotion and body language worked with her character ,she stole the play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
6 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

It's very well acted by the entire ensemble. The script is tight and suspensfully paced. Alison Pill is a standout!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
6 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 19 2013

Terrific production of this adaptation of the classic play. Performances, direction, and set were all first-rate. Highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

The production value, acting, venue, story line were all amazing - the Geffen is a great theathre with very comfortable seats and a classy look. Parking is $7 right next to the theathre. The set was very detailed. The play was very well done - I...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

Very well done!, good set layout, especially the celing touch.

great acting....great character casting.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 19 2013

Had dinner in Westwood. Parking was easy on the street. Paid $1.00 for the meter. Seats were great in front of the mezzanine. Saved a lot of money. Not crowded. Performance was good. Definitely recommend. Dress is smart casual.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
9 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

It was a disappointment. It seemed phony. Glad I went as I was curious of how it was going to be presented. It could have been over in an hour, as far as I was concerned..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

Some modifications to the original (such as replacing heroine with diamonds) made sense, others made the first scene overly complicated and hard to follow. Great seats, good quality production. Our teenage boys enjoyed the play a lot. Go see it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
130 events
4 reviews
23 stars
attended Oct 18 2013

The play was great! Acting was phenomenal. Would have been a 5 star except tickets said front mezz, which translates to back row of balcony.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 24 2013

The play was cleverly put together. Made you feel like you you actually there. The set took you back to the fifties and the actors all did an amazing job! We ended up having some great seat in orchestra seating.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
19 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

Wonderful play wonderful performance,great actors.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 25 2013

Alison Pill was amazing. I had really enjoyed the play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
3 reviews
16 stars
attended Oct 20 2013

not nearly the "thriller" as it is advertised. the acting was sub par and stagey. the intensity of the story was missing, and the attempt at humor with the blind jokes seemed inappropriate. I was looking forward to seeing this show, but left...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lemorande
14 events
2 reviews
6 stars
attended Nov 13 2013

Blah adaptation. Why change the original? Actors generally good, especially lead.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 08 2013

Disappointing with lots of mistakes! Allison Pill, are you alive? Sadly, she can't hold the proverbial candle (no pen intended) to Audrey Hepburn. And btw, why all the smoking?

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 03 2013

Great play. Great venue. Great seats!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 19 2013

Great theater, great cast. We enjoyed this

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 13 2013

I went with my boyfriend who is a big theatre snob... We both loved the play! Definitely recommend for a good date night.

star this review starred report as inappropriate