Hobbit-093013

The Hobbit

Wheelock Family Theatre (Boston, MA)

Reviews & Ratings

36 ratings
3.9 average rating
  • 14
    5
  • 7
    4
  • 12
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 1
    1
Goldstar Member Red Velvet
63 events
50 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 01 2013

The problem with the Hobbit is that it is only appropriate for children who are 8-12 years old. It is too scary for anyone under eight and too corny for anyone over 12.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
JenB Red Velvet
9 events
3 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 22 2013

It was a great all ages play- my family really enjoyed it. The seats were fine, even though we were off to the side. The venue parking is not far- but give 5-10 minutes to walk at a slower pace. Its a very casual venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 16 2013

We love the Wheelock Theatre. In this play, the language was difficult for 6yo's, but we had a good time anyway. A three star experience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

Fine for the kids who don't already know the characters well, but for adults who do and love them, it's hard to see Bilbo played as haughty and too sure of himself and Gandalf as decrepit and sort of bumbling.

Good Smaug.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
25 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

Had a great time. It was basically community theater for kids. Really fun, full of (surprisingly) well-behaved kids. Good time. Somehow they fit the hobbit into a 2 hour play adaptation. They did a great job

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
20 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

I went into the experience without knowing a lot about the organization. It is truly a Family Theater in the best sense of the word. The production engaged the kids and the show moved right along.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 03 2013

Performers were very, very good, particularly Gollum and Baggins. Thought the ending wasn't as good as some other productions I've seen, but still enjoyed the performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

Will call easy and fast, free parking on Sundays and great Mezz seats!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

Wonderful theater and the performance was excellent. Acting was really great. We all enjoyed it very much.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

A first rate production of a classic book - perfect entertainment for families and affordable, good seats thanks to Goldstar!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 01 2013

Definitely a show for families with kids in mind. With that said, as a 25 year old Tolkien fan, I really enjoyed it. The Hobbit is a children's story and I appreciated... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

Excellent play. My son loved it. Seats were excellent!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

Great show! Family friendly version of a classic tale! The kids really loved meeting the actors after the show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Tom
11 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 26 2013

It was a good experience. The play conveyed the story well. The theater was very good facility. I like the touch of the contemporary display of the dialog. I had never seen it in a theatrical production before.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 26 2013

Nice venue, good seats; however I didn't realize that most of the actors would be children. They were great though! Terrific costuming and set was cool.
Parked on Palace rd and walked..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

A totally delightful production. My 9 year old granddaughter had read the book and commented on how well the main events were captured and the skipping of many details... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 25 2013

Cute production of The Hobbit. We attended with our 6 year old Daughter and her favorite character was Gollum:)

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Oct 25 2013

Everything was great: the atmosphere, the actors, the play, the guests the treats ...

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 26 2013

Good, but it is more geared towards children for sure.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 03 2013

Great family atmosphere - our kids loved their first theater experience!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1