Nutcracker 102013

The Nutcracker

Chopin Theatre Mainstage (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

49 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 38
    5
  • 7
    4
  • 4
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
Lillias Red Velvet
47 events
19 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

Very entertaining for children and adults! Swings you from laughter to almost-tears. I found the first half of the performance to be stronger than the second, but overall, a solid piece.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
93 events
18 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 24 2013

Great event for the entire family! I love the Chopin Theater and the cast was once again wonderful. This is the second year that we went to see this performance and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A must-see during the holiday season!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
sclodfelter Red Velvet
28 events
16 reviews
12 stars
attended Dec 13 2013

A charming holiday show for all ages. It's become a Chicago holiday tradition, deservedly so.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 08 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday experience! The House theater was, as always, friendly, warm and welcoming.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
22 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 15 2013

This was the best holiday show I have ever seen. I can't wait to see it again. The chopin theater never disappoints me with whatever show they put on and this holiday classic just confirmed the theater's creativity and style.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
11 reviews
23 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

Acting was great, storyline not so much. Fun though.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
10 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 14 2013

Loved the following: Was able to go to the theatre by subway and only had to walk a few feet to get there. Was able to sit in the first row since I am hard of hearing and my hearing aids do not pick up everything. The play was nice.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 16 2013

Just about everything the House does is wonderful, & this is no exception. You're face will hurt from laughing so hard & then before you know it you'll be on the verge of tears all within the space of a single scene. The performance was attended...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

I really enjoyed the production, but I would not recommend it for children under 12.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 15 2013

Totally unexpected , and extremely talented actors. Had several laughs and also some near tear moments. Bravo! and I am telling my friends!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 23 2013

I loved it! And my friends loved too! It's very funny! We had a great laugh!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
6 stars
7 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 16 2013

This show was fantastic! Great for adults and kids alike!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 14 2013

A wonderful holiday show that will make you laugh and cry and maybe even believe in the magical. If you haven't seen The House Theatre's Nutcracker in years past, don't miss it. It's well worth your time this season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 12 2013

I enjoyed the play and loved the venue! Hands down, the experience was great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
2 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 10 2013

I took my 10 year old daughter who absolutely loved it. It is not the traditional Nutcracker but, it was time to break tradition. She enjoyed it so much, she asked if we could go again. If you have no kids to take, don't worry. It is a play...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 16 2013

My family and I loved the performance! I think the actors did well in spite of such a small venue. I especially liked the interaction with the children and the crowd. Thank you!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

This was a great way to start off the Holiday season. The Nutcracker got me excited to see my family and spend some quality time with them over the Holidays. I would highly recommend this for anyone of any age! This was my first time to the Chopin...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

Very entertaining! My teenage granddaughter and I both loved it. I would recommend this show to a friend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 20 2013

An excellent holiday play -- both a moving story and fun show. It exceeded my expectations. My young adult kids even liked it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1