Butterfly-lovers-1-920

Shanghai Ballet: The Butterfly Lovers

Cal Performances' Zellerbach Hall (Berkeley, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

24 ratings
3.9 average rating
  • 7
    5
  • 11
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 3
    2
  • 0
    1
8 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Nov 01 2013

Dancers were technically good. Choreography and music were
horrendous.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
15 reviews
9 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

My seats were excellent, the theatre was very comfortable. Very talented group of individuals. Glad I had a chance to see them.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
8 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

I took my father to watch the ballet. The music was really lovely similar to the violin interpretation of the show.

The ballet felt like a mix of old and new, with some... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

Costumes and dancing were fantastic! Music would have been much better if a real orchestra were present. In the side seats the very bright exit light was so distracting that I held up a program to shield it for most of the performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

Found it cheesy. It is made of beautiful outfits, but a bit too shiny to my taste. Lacks depth.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
AT
4 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 01 2013

Loved the whole evening! The dancers were technically perfect, evoked a wide range of emotions, and the music complemented the whole performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Fatfrog
2 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable evening. Beautifully choreographed
and skillfully presented by an impressive troupe of 30 dancers.
We purchased the tickets late, and got side... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
5 events
2 reviews
7 stars
17 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

I am so glad I was able to get discounted ticket for this performance at the last minute. The Shanghai Ballet performing The Butterfly Lovers was outstanding. The dancers were exquisite, the costumes lovely and the orchestra music was fantastic.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
2 reviews
13 stars
attended Nov 02 2013

The show was fabulous. We had very good seats. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 01 2013

Could not compare with Western Ballets, but most likely due to minimal experience rather then effort....good, but not great. Given time, I would expect substance to... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate