Baskervilles new 920

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Mountain View Center for the Performing Arts - Main Stage (Mountain View, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

50 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 25
    5
  • 16
    4
  • 7
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
240 events
162 reviews
21 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

I took 2 of my friends to see this play and they absolutely loved it! One of the 1st books I ready was the complete works of Sherlock Holmes and I have loved everything having to do with Holmes every since including the many films and series on...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
15 stars
attended Apr 03 2014

My husband and I did not like it. We could not hear it well, it was impossible to understand the dialect, and it was too silly. We left before the end, and would have left sooner, except we were with friends.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 08 2014

this was an OUTSTANDING date night! ... We had no idea how this could be pulled off as a comedy, the Actors had us laughing out loud. Great venue, Great Red Velvet seats and Great value. Thank you Gold Star !

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 22 2014

The "campy" aspect was a little over the top.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 19 2014

Very funny. Fantastic retelling of a good story. Facility was very inviting and comfortable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
100 events
74 reviews
0 stars
25 events
17 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 04 2014

very funny and extremely well acted play ! fast pace too !

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
12 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 09 2014

How can you make a 19th century "scary" story scary in the 21st century? Well, you can't. So, what do you do? The answer is to transform the story into a comedy... The result is hilarious and engaging and having 3 actors quickly switching from...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
11 reviews
18 stars
attended Apr 26 2014

Immensely funny. Actors worked really hard.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
10 reviews
10 stars
attended Apr 27 2014

I think some of the lines were a bit unclear due to the speed of the delivery; but not so bad that I could not get the gist of what they were saying. It was a fun, unique show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
9 reviews
9 stars
attended Apr 26 2014

A well performed and humorous farce. It must take a lot of stamina to play multiple roles with both verbal and physical comedy. Some dialogue was a challenge to understand but it hardly mattered as much of the performance was visual anyway.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Slo_Moe
9 events
8 reviews
4 stars
attended Apr 05 2014

Great venue and excellent cast.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
8 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 26 2014

The best part of the performace was the recap of the first half. One person in the group loved the performance. The other two in the group were expected a lot more.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 13 2014

Hilarious. The speedy review of Act I was outstanding and outlandish. Nice tango moves. Bravo.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
4 reviews
6 stars
4 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 26 2014

Went to see this because husband is a Sherlock Holmes fan. Did not know it was a comedy. What a pleasant surprise. We both enjoyed it. The actors were so funny. I would highly recommend.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 19 2014

An amusing look at one of the most iconic characters in the literary world. An enjoyable play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 27 2014

Friendly, helpful ushers. Talented cast. Funny, funny. Great stage business and amazing costume changes.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
2 reviews
5 stars
attended Apr 17 2014

I thought it was hilarious! It was silly and breaks the fourth wall quite a bit which I think some people didn't care for. I thought it was fantastic!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Apr 06 2014

The play was hilarious! Actors were professionals and very very good. Nice theater. Any seat is a good one. Free parking!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1