Baseball 122113

Bang the Drum Slowly Reviews

Gunston Arts Center (Arlington, VA)

Reviews & Ratings

20 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 8
    5
  • 8
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
142 events
89 reviews
26 stars
attended Jan 19 2014

I really enjoyed this performance. Actors were first-rate; very clever production and staging. TACT is not afraid to engage their audience. I highly recommend seeing this play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
10 reviews
51 stars
attended Jan 25 2014

Location has two theaters. Recommend listing which theater the play is in. The first act was slow. 2nd act was very interesting. We enjoyed the play and would recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
43 events
13 reviews
1 stars
attended Jan 24 2014

Excellent performances and solid production design are strong selling points of this show, but the play itself -- Eric Simonson's adaptation of Mark Harris's 1956 baseball novel about a catcher with Hodgkin's disease -- is uninspired stuff. ...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
8 reviews
6 stars
attended Jan 18 2014

It was a very community oriented theater, may be a few notches above a high school production. It was even more disappointing to have paid a full price professional theater price. Lastly, the description on your program had little to do with the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 19 2014

It was wonderful. Think it is one of the best, if not the best, small theater play I have seen in a long time. The acting was superb and it brought out so many emotions - laughter, tears, joy. It would be enjoyable by all.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
5 stars
attended Jan 19 2014

The actors were very believable, they had the audience totally engaged. I felt like putting my uniform on and going along for the ride.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
3 reviews
15 stars
attended Jan 17 2014

The actors did a terrific job of making the game of baseball and the emotional context of the story come alive in this small space! Kudos to them and to their fine director.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 31 2014

American Century is an intimate and enjoyable theatre. The performance was excellent - very professional, and close to home. Will do it again!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
T
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jan 18 2014

Small, intimate theater, performances were great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jan 25 2014

Tickets were waiting at the box office when we arrived. Theater is small & intimate. All seats are good. They did a good job with the set. Acting was ok for community theater. It was an enjoyable experience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jan 17 2014

Great set, strong cast. Lizzi Albert was outstanding.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jan 16 2014

This was a wonderful example of what local theater can be! The story was one of friendship and there were lessons we could all stand to be reminded of.

star this review starred report as inappropriate