3324439 david mamets race 920

Race Reviews

Southwest Arts Center (Atlanta, GA)

Reviews & Ratings

73 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 36
    5
  • 24
    4
  • 11
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
32 events
14 reviews
15 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

Powerful and thought provoking show... Great seats, excellent ticket prices.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
7 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 15 2014

This was a great play, that strategically dealt with the assumptions, stereotypes and guilt of race issues on both sides of the fence.
It was definitely well written & the actors were believable.
My biggest issue was the excessive use of...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
5 reviews
8 stars
attended Mar 19 2014

Exceptional performance. Gritty and brutally provocative dialogues. An intensity that shocks the intellectual sensibilities.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
5 reviews
8 stars
attended Mar 09 2014

It was excellent. The play was very provocative and compelling. I love the venue and it appeared to be sold out. I want to see it again before it leaves. Trying to work out the date and time.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 09 2014

Very complex difficult topic to address, but done very well. The actors were top notch.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Jacquelyn Thomas Red Velvet
12 events
3 reviews
3 stars
6 events
2 reviews
4 stars
ann
55 events
52 reviews
89 stars
attended Mar 20 2014

Awesome, funny, very poignant play. Should spark discussion about race issues - personal and societal. While the f-bomb-infused dialogue adds to the character development, it was a bit excessive. I went to see this play twice, bringing my...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
14 reviews
28 stars
attended Feb 27 2014

Language was a little too strong for my taste but the acting was excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
10 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 07 2014

Beautiful venue, courteous house staff and a fine production. Good nght at the theatre!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
52 events
10 reviews
11 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

I found this to be a very provocative and thought provoking play about the role race takes in society today.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
9 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 02 2014

This play had such potential, then through some quirk of the writer's whimsy he decided to make the ending rather convoluted. Rather a disappointment after looking forward to the "outcome" of the play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Nichevy
13 events
7 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

Intelligent pithy drama explores the ethos of race. Well done!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
14 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

Some of the acting was a bit overdone, but I enjoyed the show. The play was well written.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 13 2014

Powerful play with excellent performances. Highly recommended.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
41 events
5 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 05 2014

Cerebral, yet humorous play about race yet again. Its good. Fine acting. Please see it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
5 reviews
1 stars
7 events
5 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 01 2014

Ideas were good. A little too much profanity. Abrupt ending.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
5 reviews
27 stars
attended Mar 14 2014

It was intense and as biracial person opened up a dialog with my spouse.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 02 2014

This is a must see play. So intellegently written. The dialogue is fast paced and at times I wished I could rewind/replay to catch the words again as it really makes you think! It's the kind of script that sits with you and you want to talk...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1