Dreamgirls 121109

Dreamgirls Reviews

Hippodrome Theatre (Baltimore, MD)

Reviews & Ratings

14 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
TT
10 events
4 reviews
7 stars
attended Dec 16 2009

Overall he show was good but not great...some of the choreographed dancing was not professionally skilled enough.
The actors that played Curtis, Effie White and Lorelle were very good. And Jimmy Early was hilarious..
Not sure why --but 2...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
14 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 21 2009

Seats were good...amazing vocals! Definitely glad I went!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

Spectacular! Great choreography, high energy show!
The sets were really fun and every seat in the orchestra was great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

I was pleasantly surprised at this show. I saw the original show on Broadway in the 80's with Jennifer Holiday and Sheryl Lee Ralph and can say that this production rivals the original one. The voices, dancing, and almost instant, magical costume...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
7 reviews
103 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

The show was fantastic! A little long for my tastes, however, it was greatly cheoreographed and the people were very talented. I would recommend it to anyone.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

It was a wonderful production. The new song was a great addition. I enjoyed myself thoroughly!! Dreamgirls was my fav movie from 2006, and this version of the musical made me appreciate it all the more!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 22 2009

Excellent show, drove in hardcore traffic from DC, but it was well worth it! The cast was fantastic and received a very loong standing applause. I was afraid it would let down after seeing the movie first, but the show held its own.

The venue...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 16 2009

There were great singers and there were ok singers -- and 2 actresses replaced at the beginning of Act 2 really emphasized this as the quality of the singing seemed to drop off dramatically. The actress playing Effie was a phenomenal...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2009

Great leads, unfortunately the understudies are not of the same caliber. Will be a great production once it gets its sea legs.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

The acting and singing was phenomenal. Couldn't really see well, though, as is always a problem at the Hippodrome.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
3 stars
attended Dec 23 2009

The male actors, especially the one playing Jimmy, lead the pack. The female artists were weak, incude Effe, who was flat alot.
Nice staging and production design.
At 3 hours it was a bit long.

star this review starred report as inappropriate