Philharmonia 460x260

Philharmonia Orchestra Reviews

Cal Performances' Zellerbach Hall (Berkeley, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

13 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
68 events
28 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

Very strong performance by the Orchestra and the Conductor was wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
13 reviews
10 stars
attended Nov 11 2012

It was a pretty sublime performance. Esa-Pekka Salonen is a masterful conductor and the Philharmonia Symphony performed beautifully. Our seats were great!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
11 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 11 2012

One of the best symphony concerts that we have been to in a long, long time. Bloody marvellous!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
63 events
8 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 11 2012

Esa-Pekka Salonen made Mahler's 9th sound like it's never sounded in this country! Superb, sublime.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
6 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

Exquisite concert with great conducting and passionate rendering two encores and a standing ovation.one if the best performances by an orchestra in the Bay Area in a decade

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

It was fantastic. It was great.

As for my seats: I was hesitant about the seat at R-Orchestra. However, since Goldstar notes that all the seats have good view; I took the offer & purchased my ticket and I was not disappointed. They were very...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

An excellent program: the Salonen piece was carefully built and played very well'the Beethoven had real fire and mastery'; the Berlioz was dramatic and coherent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 11 2012

Esa-Pekka Salonen brought his usual style to the stage conducting Mahler's 9th Symphony: emotive, energetic, charismatic, committed. The Philharmonia responded in kind. The fourth movement's quiet, eerie closing brought tears to our eyes. What an...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

An excellent performance followed by three command encores. Superb.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Nov 09 2012

It was rather assaultive in the Bethoven but quite good with the Berlioz.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
1 review
0 stars