Miceandmen 101411 v1

Of Mice and Men Reviews

New Village Arts Theatre (Carlsbad, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

41 ratings
4.9 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
42 events
12 reviews
29 stars
attended Oct 26 2011

Outstanding performances in this classic tale of companionship. These guys deserve to be in front of much bigger audiences. An absolute delight.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

Best acting I have ever seen. Actors must have stepped out of a time machine. A very gripping story which exactly follows the book. VERY good... Very VERY good..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
150 events
87 reviews
49 stars
83 events
4 reviews
73 stars
8 events
3 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

Lennie and George are just like I imagined in the book. The acting is superb. It was a true and moving rendition. I loved Candy and the dog was well trained and a sweet addition to the cast.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

Remarkable cast...followed the book seamlessly. Truly embodied their characters and made the best of a very small set/limited props.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 26 2011

This is a great production! We saw first preview and it still had a little tightening up to do in the first act, but we were impressed with the acting. The set design was well-done. I cried like a baby at the final scene, despite knowing what was...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Maria Red Velvet
29 events
9 reviews
8 stars
51 events
26 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 11 2011

While the play started a bit slowly it picked up it's pace and gripped the audience in the second act.
The actors played with sensitivity and respect for Steinbeck and his era.
The surroundings were comfortable and the set was imaginative.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
21 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

EXCELLENT performances by all the actors.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
19 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 19 2011

Of Mice and Men is a fantastic production. The poignancy of the story comes through loud and clear. Excellent direction, cast, setting. The talkback was worthwhile, too.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
P&E
29 events
16 reviews
39 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

This was one of the best plays I have seen in a long time. Everything was fantastic. The actors were outstanding. I had a Goldstar ticket and got a very good price. I think this was as good as the movie version. I'm not sure it is the best play...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
15 reviews
15 stars
attended Nov 12 2011

Excellent play- the actors were brilliant!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
14 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 05 2011

This was one of the best stage performances I've seen, and I've attended many "big name" broadway productions. The acting is first rate. I would recommend this to anyone, especially all who are familiar with the book.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
13 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

As well acted, directed and produced as any theater production I have seen in my over 60 years. Thoroughly enjoyable!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
11 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 13 2011

Another great production put on at New Village Arts Theater. The acting was amazing! If there is such a thing as an Academy Award, Manny playing Lennie deserves it!
I have told several friends, don't miss it!
Bev Conner

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Oct 27 2011

I was absolutely transported into an incredible novel. I could not rave enough about this performance. The acting was superb! This deserves to be a sell out performance every night! Don't miss it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
10 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 12 2011

The venue was very intimate and very comfortable. The play was performed with professional expertise. The "after play" discussion with the players was very informative. Worth seeing this play again.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
9 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 11 2011

Excellent in every way. Don't miss this one if you love great acting. Very small theater so every seat is a good one. The actors and staff really give it their 130%!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
8 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 20 2011

excellent!
bravo!!!

neil, mission hills

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1