130517 mojada goldstar

Mojada Reviews

Victory Gardens Zacek McVay Theater (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

19 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 10
    5
  • 6
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
sclodfelter Red Velvet
34 events
17 reviews
16 stars
29 events
10 reviews
30 stars
attended Jul 19 2013

This was an excellent play that I recommended to everyone who would listen.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
27 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 31 2013

"MOJADA," modern day- GREEK tragedy (Medea). Even the main characters had the names of MEDEA and JASON. The actors were GREAT. The story line could've been MUCH stronger and more engaging, without EURIPIDES linkage. ..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
20 reviews
7 stars
28 events
17 reviews
14 stars
attended Jul 21 2013

This is an outstanding play, a contemporary adaptation of a classic Greek tragey, "Medea" by Euripides. The drama is set in the Pilsen neighborhood of Chicago, the characters are undocumented Mexicans, and it works both as classic tragedy and as...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 20 2013

I rarely go to theater but i wanted to expand my outings and this play was worth it. I lost myself in the story for a bit and was really into it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Aug 10 2013

This was a while back, but I liked the show quite a lot. I'm sorry to say: I can't be very specific any more.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 20 2013

Makes you laugh and makes you cry. It's a must see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Zoey
13 events
3 reviews
43 stars
attended Jul 27 2013

This is a 'must see', superb performances! Great set as well!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Jul 13 2013

Very intense. Wonderful acting - after seeing it, I'm still carrying the characters in my mind.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
6 stars
attended Aug 08 2013

A powerful collision behind the truth of immigration weaved within the actions of a Greek tragedy! I felt that this play's focal point was steeped in powerful female energy with unique character interpretations.
Although the message was strong and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
6 stars
attended Jul 27 2013

This play was a real dog....poorly directed, confused plot, and much of the acting worthy of a mediocre high school production. Essentially this was the story of an immigrant Mexican family coming to the U.S. with the Medea story rather awkwardly...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate