Burntboys 100112

The Burnt Part Boys Reviews

Theater Wit (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

10 ratings
4.0 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
46 events
29 reviews
11 stars
attended Dec 09 2012

What a wonderful show! Poignant story, well executed, terrific staging, and warm-hearted performances by all. Singing was very well done!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
18 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 08 2012

The staging was amazing. The director was able to transform the scene from a kitchen to a forest to a mine, all with a few props and very effective set and lighting. The cast was strong -- great voices and acting. The whole musical had a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
10 reviews
11 stars
attended Nov 18 2012

The actors and their voices were very good and the scene changes were skillfully handled. However, the story was depressing, and I did not feel uplifted, only sorry about the characters and their lives.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
9 reviews
15 stars
attended Nov 18 2012

Very moving play that captured the audience almost immediately and kept our attention throughout. Would recommend the production.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
6 reviews
15 stars
attended Nov 10 2012

really nice show, nice venue..enjoyed ourselves

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 03 2012

We saw a preview and it was terrific. The voices of the chorus were excellent. The rest of the acting and singing was very good. It is a bittersweet, very moving story

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 16 2012

Not the best written play. Singing by the quartet of guys was pretty good. I found the acting a bit lacking. The lead was one dimensional and was as twitchy as his name suggested.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 16 2012

We really enjoyed this play/musical. I especially enjoyed the performances of the miners, facial expressions were perfect. Set design as great. Loved the music.

star this review starred report as inappropriate