Themarch 0406121

The March Reviews

Steppenwolf Downstairs Theatre (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

16 ratings
3.8 average rating
  • 3
    5
  • 8
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
21 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Apr 13 2012

If it wasn't the Steppenwolf doing this play, it would have been interminable. Sometimes (often) novels don't make the best source material for plays; this one suffered from too many characters and too little chance for the excellent actors to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended May 17 2012

My husband and I found the performance to be very insightful and thought provoking. We left the theater with a better understanding of the Civil War.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Jun 05 2012

The play captured the feeling of the book well, and the emotions and contradictions of the civil war. at times it was hard to hear some of the actors. At 3 hours, it was a bit long, but did not drag.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended May 27 2012

I thought the performance was exceptional, and I would without reservation recommend this show to anyone, whether they were interested in history or not.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended May 26 2012

I was disappointed in the play. It was too long (3 hours) and uneven in interest level. Parts dragged horribly. The actors were frequently difficult to understand; articulation was not clear. I expected more.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended May 27 2012

The March was good but longer than it could have been. Perhaps that was the intent as the march to the sea was also very long. The individual stories of the characters were human and possible to that time. It was worth seeing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jun 09 2012

Interesting and well performed . The Confederates looked superb; the Federal a bit theatre-like.Superb performance by Ian Barford,Carrie Coon,James Vincent,Alana Arenas, and I quite enjoyed Martha Lavey!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 06 2012

A big undertaking, and they pull it off very well. Huge cast and splendid direction synthesizes, in a dramatic fashion, Doctrow's epic novel. 2 hours and 45 minutes fly by in a compelling manner.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 09 2012

Good overview of Civil War as it winds down, mostly from the northern point of view... the play follows most of Doctorow's main characters through Georgia and the Carolinas

I thought maybe the play relied too much on individual speeches the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 02 2012

Much too long, the production badly needs a tight edit. Disappointing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate