Reviews & Ratings

131 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 98
    5
  • 24
    4
  • 8
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
66 events
56 reviews
6 stars
attended Dec 06 2014

We saw this performance four years ago and knew that we would take our nieces when they were ready. They are now 8, 8 and 6 and the time has come. It was great. One of them actually sat on the edge of her seat through the entire performance. ...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lillias Red Velvet
52 events
26 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

Very entertaining for children and adults! Swings you from laughter to almost-tears. I found the first half of the performance to be stronger than the second, but overall, a solid piece.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
sclodfelter Red Velvet
37 events
18 reviews
14 stars
attended Dec 13 2013

A charming holiday show for all ages. It's become a Chicago holiday tradition, deservedly so.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
181 events
64 reviews
18 stars
attended Nov 30 2014

As advertised, no Tchaikovsky and no ballet, but that doesn't mean no music and no dance. At the end they ask us to tell our friends if we liked the show, and I have been doing just that. Go!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
101 events
19 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 24 2013

Great event for the entire family! I love the Chopin Theater and the cast was once again wonderful. This is the second year that we went to see this performance and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A must-see during the holiday season!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
49 events
14 reviews
40 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

Acting was great, storyline not so much. Fun though.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
5 reviews
8 stars
attended Nov 15 2014

A wonderful experimental play with multi-generational appeal. We went with our elementary-school-aged kids. No ballet, no Tchaikovsky's music, and barely any relationship to the original Hoffmann story. Basically an adult play with children's...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 08 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday experience! The House theater was, as always, friendly, warm and welcoming.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 06 2014

I can't think of a better way to get into the spirit of Christmas! Sheer exuberance with stop-a-clock timing, not a dropped line at the first preview, and gleeful FUN! The Cockney British accented female Rat was especially tone-perfect. What a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 14 2014

I go every year, fabulous! Kids, adults, it's as universal as Christmas cookies, vegan friendly ones, that is.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 14 2014

My granddaughters and I enjoyed the venue and the outstanding performance. The story was told in an enjoyable way without the music and dancing. Actors engaged with the audience. They could tone down the music that was blasting 30 minutes before...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

We had such a great time!! The kids loved it, the parents loved it...just a FUN time!! The performances were fantastic, the actors did an amazing job interacting with us, and the theater was beautiful!! Thank you very much!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Squishy
41 events
28 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 22 2014

When we got there and there were so many young children running around and playing on the stage (theater in the round) I worried that it would be too childish and noisy with talking.
Never fear, everyone was held spellbound.
It was a great way to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
27 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 08 2014

They should decide whether it's a kid's show (and eliminate the sexual innuendos, the extreme-scary part, and the focus on and direction mention of death ... OR ... decide it's an adult show ... and rewrite, redirect and totally re-do it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
23 reviews
7 stars
attended Nov 15 2013

This was the best holiday show I have ever seen. I can't wait to see it again. The chopin theater never disappoints me with whatever show they put on and this holiday classic just confirmed the theater's creativity and style.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
45 events
15 reviews
16 stars
attended Nov 23 2014

A lovely show that manages to get you into the holiday spirit without being overwhelming & cheesy. Great performances by all - and watching the kids (of all ages) in the audience is just as fun as watching the actors on stage!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
11 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 30 2014

Fun, intimate setting. Well acted.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
10 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 14 2013

Loved the following: Was able to go to the theatre by subway and only had to walk a few feet to get there. Was able to sit in the first row since I am hard of hearing and my hearing aids do not pick up everything. The play was nice.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 26 2014

My great niece and I thought this show was terrific. The choreography was outstanding and the cast was excellent. This is an exceptionally good holiday choice for children. Bravo to all involved in the production. It was a fun evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 20 2014

This is a smart, funny, and ultimately touching take on the Nutcracker that children and adults will both enjoy. A great show, regardless the season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4