Reviews & Ratings

101 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 73
    5
  • 19
    4
  • 8
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
Lillias Red Velvet
52 events
26 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 09 2013

Very entertaining for children and adults! Swings you from laughter to almost-tears. I found the first half of the performance to be stronger than the second, but overall, a solid piece.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
sclodfelter Red Velvet
36 events
18 reviews
13 stars
attended Dec 13 2013

A charming holiday show for all ages. It's become a Chicago holiday tradition, deservedly so.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
101 events
19 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 24 2013

Great event for the entire family! I love the Chopin Theater and the cast was once again wonderful. This is the second year that we went to see this performance and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A must-see during the holiday season!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
48 events
14 reviews
37 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

Acting was great, storyline not so much. Fun though.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 08 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday experience! The House theater was, as always, friendly, warm and welcoming.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 15 2014

A wonderful experimental play with multi-generational appeal. We went with our elementary-school-aged kids. No ballet, no Tchaikovsky's music, and barely any relationship to the original Hoffmann story. Basically an adult play with children's...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 06 2014

I can't think of a better way to get into the spirit of Christmas! Sheer exuberance with stop-a-clock timing, not a dropped line at the first preview, and gleeful FUN! The Cockney British accented female Rat was especially tone-perfect. What a...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

We had such a great time!! The kids loved it, the parents loved it...just a FUN time!! The performances were fantastic, the actors did an amazing job interacting with us, and the theater was beautiful!! Thank you very much!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Squishy
35 events
28 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 22 2014

When we got there and there were so many young children running around and playing on the stage (theater in the round) I worried that it would be too childish and noisy with talking.
Never fear, everyone was held spellbound.
It was a great way to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
27 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 08 2014

They should decide whether it's a kid's show (and eliminate the sexual innuendos, the extreme-scary part, and the focus on and direction mention of death ... OR ... decide it's an adult show ... and rewrite, redirect and totally re-do it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
23 reviews
6 stars
attended Nov 15 2013

This was the best holiday show I have ever seen. I can't wait to see it again. The chopin theater never disappoints me with whatever show they put on and this holiday classic just confirmed the theater's creativity and style.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
43 events
15 reviews
16 stars
attended Nov 23 2014

A lovely show that manages to get you into the holiday spirit without being overwhelming & cheesy. Great performances by all - and watching the kids (of all ages) in the audience is just as fun as watching the actors on stage!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
10 reviews
1 stars
attended Nov 14 2013

Loved the following: Was able to go to the theatre by subway and only had to walk a few feet to get there. Was able to sit in the first row since I am hard of hearing and my hearing aids do not pick up everything. The play was nice.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Nov 26 2014

My great niece and I thought this show was terrific. The choreography was outstanding and the cast was excellent. This is an exceptionally good holiday choice for children. Bravo to all involved in the production. It was a fun evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 20 2014

This is a smart, funny, and ultimately touching take on the Nutcracker that children and adults will both enjoy. A great show, regardless the season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 16 2013

Just about everything the House does is wonderful, & this is no exception. You're face will hurt from laughing so hard & then before you know it you'll be on the verge of tears all within the space of a single scene. The performance was attended...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 08 2013

I really enjoyed the production, but I would not recommend it for children under 12.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
india m
5 events
4 reviews
6 stars
attended Nov 13 2014

This was a fun and interactive version of the classic. I took my daughter who`s five and she loved it too! The cast was great and the staff at the Chopin was fantastic!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 15 2013

Totally unexpected , and extremely talented actors. Had several laughs and also some near tear moments. Bravo! and I am telling my friends!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 23 2013

I loved it! And my friends loved too! It's very funny! We had a great laugh!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3