Nutcracker art

The Nutcracker Reviews

Steppenwolf Upstairs Theatre (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

93 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 47
    5
  • 31
    4
  • 13
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
49 events
28 reviews
32 stars
attended Nov 24 2007

Original and imaginative! Well-acted and great use of sets. House Theater is quickly becoming one of my favorite companies.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Dec 13 2007

It was wonderful! The actors were all divine, esp the little girl, her uncle, and the toys, and the script was light and funny while also being moving - very enjoyable!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Dec 08 2007

This is definitely a House creation, in the best way possible. I had high expectations from them after seeing The Sparrow, and this exceeded them! It managed to retain humor and cuteness through the dark twist they put on it. Awesome!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
13 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 21 2007

This was hilarious and wonderful. Would definitely suggest it to others!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
10 reviews
3 stars
attended Nov 25 2007

The performance was delightful. We took a five, eight, nine and an eleven year old to see the show. They were all delighted with the toys coming to life. However, the story line is dark in that Clara is battling mental illness. None of the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
115 events
51 reviews
19 stars
attended Dec 01 2007

This was one of the most creative performances I've ever seen! The actors and the orchestra were wonderful!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
54 events
37 reviews
13 stars
attended Dec 21 2007

So funny!!! I wasn't sure what to expect from the description but it was a creative, fun, totally awesome play and it made me want to go see more plays from the same company. Highly recommend!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
81 events
30 reviews
17 stars
attended Nov 15 2007

A redo of Nutcracker with major changes, retaining only the toy symbols.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
21 reviews
33 stars
attended Nov 25 2007

Loved everything about this quirky, inventive show-the actors, the characters, the costumes, the orchestra and especially the heartwarming story. A great offbeat holiday show for the whole family!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lark
19 events
8 reviews
14 stars
attended Dec 21 2007

The Nutcracker and The House certainly did not disappoint. We loved the show. It was really extraordinary. I've said it before and I'll say it again, The House is one of the best theater companies in Chicago. It is comprised of extremely...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
2 stars
attended Nov 24 2007

Saw this play with my 15-year-old nephew and 11-year-old niece....it was good family entertainment with a message.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
7 reviews
5 stars
attended Dec 16 2007

This cast is SO creative and entertaining - great show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Dec 01 2007

It was a good show but scary for kids. Very deep when you think about all the issues involved.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Nov 15 2007

The performers were wonderful. The show was enjoyable. However the Name of the show weas highly deceiving- it wasn't what I expected and I'm sure if people were to take children they would be very dissappointed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
6 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 15 2007

This was such an interesting take on the Christmas classic. I took my 12 year old nieces and felt it was a little too dark for them. The storyline was advanced for their age but they definitely got the broader picture.

Overall, great performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
5 reviews
13 stars
attended Nov 28 2007

I thought that this redition of the Nutcracker was poorly written. The actors really saved this script. It was terribly boring, but I think that the acting was pretty good.
Definitely too dark/scary for children.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 16 2007

A neat twist on the Nutcracker. Really enjoyed the play and definitely would recommend to others.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 15 2007

Great Holiday performance. Moving and hilarious! A must see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 14 2007

House Theatre Company does some wonderful things. See their shows!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
4 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 15 2007

It is definitely not your traditional Nutcracker but it has its good moments.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3