Thetriptobountiful 081913 temp

The Trip to Bountiful

Raven Theatre East Stage (Chicago, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

43 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 28
    5
  • 13
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
67 events
14 reviews
5 stars
attended Sep 18 2013

The acting and casting were excellent. The two intermissions made for a long play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
9 reviews
10 stars
attended Sep 19 2013

Great story and gripping play in a comfortable venue. I little long (with two intermissions) but held my interest throughout.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
7 reviews
6 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

This was my first time at the Raven theatre. I've been wanting to check it out since I grew up in the area and excited that there is a legitamite theatre in the neighborhood. I was really impressed with the structure itself.....much larger than...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

Went with friends and enjoyed neighborhood theater. I think my experience suffered from having seen the play recently in a much larger venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Andrea L
183 events
92 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

The acting was superb, the set very good, casting excellent. Very well-written play, one of the best I've seen in the last few years.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
96 events
63 reviews
25 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

I told many people to see this as I thought it was wonderful. Great acting, great sets, and a great time at the theater!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
96 events
63 reviews
25 stars
attended Sep 19 2013

This is an exceptional production of a touching play. The actors were all wonderful! The mother, son, daughter-in-law, and young woman on the bus were incredibly talented and real.

The three scenes and sets were well designed and very...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
63 events
44 reviews
6 stars
65 events
43 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

I loved it. The performances were fantastic. The set was realistic and beautiful. and the costumes were perfect.
I've seen a few shows at the Raven and it is one of the best theaters the city has to offer. I'm continually impressed by their shows.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
111 events
42 reviews
10 stars
attended Oct 27 2013

well acted and charming story... might make you a little concerned about the family others choose for you...and how time moves on...

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
17 reviews
6 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

Wonderful play, well acted and highly recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
16 reviews
10 stars
attended Sep 17 2013

Excellent production of a well-crafted story. The actors were top-rate, especially the actress who played Mama. Since the theater only has 5 rows, audience members are close enough to see the facial nuances of the actors.
The theater is...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
9 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 18 2013

Great story, good acting, but a little slow.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

Had an excellent time, as usual, at Raven. It's a lengthy show--three acts--but it didn't feel bloated or slow. Lots of laughs and I didn't cry but I came close.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
9 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

Something else came up and I did not go. My experience with Goldstar was very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
7 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 17 2013

It was a very heart felt story. The acting was very good and the play kept me entertained.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 18 2013

Play was fantastic.The depth of emotion was well portrayed.Actors were very good.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 19 2013

What a very charming venue! How could we have missed that for so long?!?!?! We'll definitively be back at the Raven!!

The performance of "Bountiful" was just amazing! Congrats to everyone involved, especially the actors. Very gripping and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
6 reviews
8 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Loved the performances of the actors. They were excellent--not one flaw in the dialog.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Linda
7 events
4 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 20 2013

The cast is amazing and everyone gives a great performances. Raven always gives a great show!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1