Venue Details

1 Star Starred
Ensemble Theatre Cincinnati
1127 Vine Street Cincinnati, OH 45202
513-421-3555
Venue website Get directions

Member Tips

Goldstar Member
Business Casual...daytime matinee show
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Found
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Found a free spot a block from the theatre. There is $2 parking at a lot across from the theatre.
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Did not eat or drink anything, but coffee & soft drinks could be purchased.
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Did not eat or drink anything but coffee and soft drinks could be purchased.
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
We were at a pay meter, but the time ran out on the meter and we got a ticket :-((
info Jan 30 2012 star this tip starred

Reviews & Ratings

5 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
18 events
10 reviews
3 stars
attended Jan 28 2012

We enjoyed the play very much! It was well done and thought provoking!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 16 2012

This was a wonderfully executed production with an excellent set. Energy and commitment by the actors was to be highly applauded. D. Lynn Meyers made great choices in terms of casting and staging.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information

Website

http://www.cincyetc.com/season/default.asp?p=1&q=4

Quotes & Highlights

The Whipping Man offers powerful acting in the service of moving storytelling…a memorable performance.” —CityBeat (Critic’s Pick)
“Ensemble Theatre, which is enjoying its best-attended season ever, delivers a solid production … with sensitive, nuanced direction.” —Cincinnati Enquirer

Description

It’s Passover, 1865. The Civil War has just ended and the annual celebration of freedom from bondage is being observed in Jewish homes across the country. Caleb DeLeon, a Jewish Confederate soldier, returns wounded from the battlefield to find his family home in ruins, abandoned by everyone except Simon and John, two former slaves, who were raised as Jews in the DeLeon home. As the three men wait for the family’s return, they wrestle with their shared past as master and slave, uncovering a tangle of long-buried family secrets as well as new ones…ties that bind them together and that, ultimately, might cost each man his freedom.

This show contains adult language and themes — including one scene of explicit physical violence — and may not be suitable for all audiences.

About the Ticket Supplier: Ensemble Theatre Cincinnati

Ensemble Theatre Cincinnati is a professional theatre dedicated to producing world and regional premieres of works that often explore compelling social issues. We fulfill our mission through our stage productions and educational outreach programs that enlighten, enliven, enrich and inspire our audiences.