Alvinailey 022812

Alvin Ailey Reviews

Segerstrom Center for the Arts, Segerstrom Hall (Costa Mesa, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

85 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 67
    5
  • 13
    4
  • 3
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 0
    1
49 events
22 reviews
8 stars
attended Mar 06 2012

The performance was awesome! I would be going back to make sure I hit all of the programs if I didn't have other plans over the next few days! I am originally from the east coast (Philadelphia) and have always wanted to see them. It was worth...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
14 reviews
0 stars
attended Mar 08 2012

The dancers are unbelievable. The choreography is outstanding, their talent is unparalleled and the costuming was wonderful and added to each dance.

A truly DO NOT MISS event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
6 reviews
14 stars
9 events
3 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 06 2012

Absolutely loved the performance! Alvin Ailey doesn't disappoint! Thinking of going again and taking my granddaughter.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
62 events
30 reviews
23 stars
attended Mar 10 2012

This is a not to be missing performance. I have never experienced the energy and physicality and sheer joy that Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater projects to its audience.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
18 reviews
4 stars
attended Mar 10 2012

have`seen them a`few times`before and they still are extraordinary.

Our seats were very good in the first tier middle and not pushed all the way back like` before.

I was`disappointed at`the low`attendance, what a shame!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
14 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 07 2012

Wonderful performance. Great seats at a great value.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Mar 11 2012

Wonderful dancers and show! I went with a friend and we both enjoyed most of the numbers. We saw Program A. Revelations was the most impressive.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
10 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 06 2012

As usual, it was a fantastic performance! Ailey Dance Theatre consistently performs on a level of excellence. Program A included a variety of modern dances - aftrocentric, traditional, and current hip hop inspired. I loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 06 2012

great dancers, we all enjoyed it

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
9 reviews
228 stars
attended Mar 07 2012

Program B was wonderful, especially Minus 16. See it if possible.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
8 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 07 2012

I loved the whole program, particularly Minus 16 that I found surptising, wonderful choreography and superb music. Kudos to the whole company

star this review starred report as inappropriate
21 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 08 2012

I attended Performance C. People of all walks of life will enjoy this tremendously. The dancers are phenomenal and there strength and control is amazing. Anxiously awaiting next year and I will check out another performance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
5 reviews
10 stars
12 events
5 reviews
3 stars
14 events
5 reviews
1 stars
attended Mar 08 2012

Not a huge fan of dance or especially modern dance BUT this was one of the best performances I have EVER seen.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
5 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 07 2012

This was my first experience with the Ailey Co., and I was very impressed. I especially like the last act, in which the dancers were accompanied by a talented choir of Gospel singers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 06 2012

Fabulous and still going strong. We saw program A.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 09 2012

Such beauty, energy, and talent! I look forward to seeing them every time they are in town.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Mar 10 2012

They are really the very very best in dance. cant believe how incredible and professional. The level of dance was amazing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3