1504622chicago

Chicago Reviews

Segerstrom Center for the Arts, Segerstrom Hall (Costa Mesa, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

112 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 72
    5
  • 30
    4
  • 8
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 1
    1
10 events
10 reviews
8 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

Seeing "Chicago" on stage after seeing the movie makes for a slightly different experience. It's still a wonderful play and the music and dancing make it worthwhile. It's hard, however, to keep oneself from comparing the two. The play has a few...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

I hated this performance and couldn't sit through the whole thing. I left after half an hour of it. The actors were not convincing and hard to listen to.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
7 reviews
4 stars
attended Jun 27 2007

I have seen Chicago several times. Love the choreography; of course i am a Fosse Fan! Didn't care for the "minimilist" staging however. The story demands s-o-m-e set pieces .

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
5 reviews
5 stars
attended Jun 27 2007

I've seen this show at least 4 times and was so noticed that this production's cast did not represent the typical body type of a dancer. It was refreshing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
5 reviews
19 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

the woman who played Roxy was consistently a half step behind her backup dancers through the whole show, but Velma was wonderful and overall the spectacle was great.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

This musical was incredible. The performers were amazing and talented beyond expectations.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
97 events
36 reviews
25 stars
46 events
35 reviews
23 stars
attended Jun 26 2007

Fantastic show. The actress playing Roxy was outstanding. We loved this show and would advise anyone who enjoys musicals to see it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
95 events
24 reviews
38 stars
attended Jul 01 2007

This was fantastic! The singing and dancing was excellent. The entire production was energetic and fun to watch. Thoroughly enjoyable.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
103 events
45 reviews
2 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

Excellent theatrical experience!!!!!!!1

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
29 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 26 2007

A great show done by very talented singers and dancers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
37 events
22 reviews
1 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

I found this show to be boring right from the beginning. The choreography to the show was amazing though. I didn't stay for the second act as I didn't like it enough for the second act. I rarely leave a show at intermission

star this review starred report as inappropriate
24 events
16 reviews
23 stars
attended Jun 26 2007

The seats were fine, but the words were hard to understand. The stage seemed a little small for the production. But it was still an enjoyable evening.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
15 reviews
2 stars
attended Jun 26 2007

The singing and dancing were amazing! It made you want to get up and dance. I wasn't expecting to laugh so much...the dialogue was hilarious!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
10 reviews
4 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

My sister and I had a great time. Thanks for allowing me to fit this event in my budget. This made her birthday.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Net
31 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Jun 27 2007

This show surpassed my every expectation! The cast was excellent and we really had a great time! The location of the seats was great and everything was excellent!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
8 reviews
17 stars
attended Jun 26 2007

Excellent performance! Seats were too far away from the stage but you get what you pay for.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
8 reviews
4 stars
attended Jul 01 2007

The show was excellent. We walked right up to the box office and they had the tickets ready to go. The performing arts center is really beautiful. Thanks!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
7 reviews
0 stars
attended Jun 28 2007

I thought it was a good show. Some places lacked a bit of energy but never for more than a minute or two and I was never bored at all. I would definitely go see more shows with the same cast because they worked very well together and really took...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
6 reviews
5 stars
attended Jul 01 2007

It was great! The choreography was really good and the dancers (all of them) were excellent. I love how they "interacted" with the audience as much as the storyline would allow!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3