Hamburg ballett 1 920

Hamburg Ballett: Liliom Reviews

Segerstrom Center for the Arts, Segerstrom Hall (Costa Mesa, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

28 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 18
    5
  • 9
    4
  • 1
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
182 events
52 reviews
16 stars
attended Feb 08 2014

Truly an exceptional ballet. LA Times review said it all. Likened it to a danced play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

The ballet was great and purchasing the tickets through Goldstar made it so easy when I arrived at the event..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
2 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

It is now more then a month after watching the ballet and I still think of it often. The emotional impact of the ending was profound.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
72 events
52 reviews
5 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

It was great to see the composer, Michel LeGrand there at the curtain call. He is responsible for such great music, like his Oscar winning score from the Thomas Crown Affair ("Windmills of your Mind").

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
21 reviews
1 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

I have no words. Or, I have a lot of words that don't do any justice. The whole production was hauntingly beautiful. It never ceases to amaze me how ballet, a largely silent medium, can abruptly expose you to a such a wide range of powerful...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
19 reviews
8 stars
attended Feb 08 2014

This is a beautiful company of dancers, however this particular ballet did not hit all the right chords with me. There was some lovely dancing and music, but the story felt overly complicated and intellectual, and not enough emotional resonance.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
10 reviews
0 stars
attended Feb 08 2014

A cross between classic ballet and modern dance, Hamburg Ballett did it again! I just noticed how international this troupe is with only one German dancer in the line up.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
11 events
9 reviews
2 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

Again, getting ticket at Will Call was a breeze. Seat was in good location. I found the ballet & music to be uneven and repetitive, although many in the audience around me were enthusiastic.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
9 reviews
6 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

Great seats and the performance was good too. It was the first time the protagonist was from the male perspective. Most (or at least the ones I've seen) are from the female's.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
7 reviews
3 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

Full length contemporary ballet...didn't love every minute, but was really happy to see a world class dance performance in Irvine! Kudos to the Segerstom for hosting this event.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
6 reviews
7 stars
attended Feb 07 2014

What a magical night! Liliom was A+ in all aspects: choreography, dance, performance, design and musical store. What a pleasure to see composer Michel LeGrand take a bow on stage with John Neumeier and the whole ballet ensemble. And thanks to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
4 stars
attended Feb 09 2014

Fabulous! Story, music, and dance combined together into an unexpected gestalt we will always remember.

star this review starred report as inappropriate