1556026 sanfranballet 091911

San Francisco Ballet: Romeo & Juliet Reviews

Segerstrom Center for the Arts, Segerstrom Hall (Costa Mesa, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

55 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 42
    5
  • 10
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 1
    1
423 events
172 reviews
58 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

Beautiful performance. Took my friend for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. Good seats. Thanks Goldstar!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
218 events
102 reviews
45 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Very enjoyable. An excellent company, fine orchestra, lovely sets

star this review starred report as inappropriate
97 events
33 reviews
12 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

Breathless! The result of an absolutely fabulous night of ballet. San Francisco Ballet performed a stunning Romeo and Juliet on Friday night led by Maria Kochetkova and Joan Boada. The performance of the season, no doubt. Our seats were fabulous!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
44 events
20 reviews
17 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

Excellent performance. Lead dancers were outstanding. Wonderful company!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
518 events
394 reviews
-73 stars
attended Oct 02 2011

Best production I have ever seen of this practicular ballet.. SF Ballet rocks.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
67 events
45 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

It was a beautiful and traditional performance of a classic story!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
30 events
24 reviews
2 stars
Joy
38 events
23 reviews
4 stars
25 events
21 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 02 2011

Incredible! I have never seen choreography and acting this good in a ballet. Tomasson (artistic director) is an amazing choreographer whose choreography furthers the poignant story, as well as thrills with technical brilliance.

Maria...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
T
17 events
13 reviews
12 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

It was a wonderful musical performance that told a classic story. That said, it left me a little flat. I had also attended Tues Mix-rep, and was very glad I did! The mix-rep has several breath-taking moments, where R&J did not. One thing about...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
13 reviews
13 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

Never having seen the SF ballet and Romeo & Juliet I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. Excellent performance but everyone except I felt that Juliet lacked something. Oh well, just my own perception.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
11 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

The San Francisco Ballet did their usual terrific job. They are always worth seeing regardless of the program they perform.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Lacey J.
31 events
8 reviews
16 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Perfect! I've always loved the score to this Ballet. It was lovely seeing it finally combined with the dance itself. The Costumes were wonderful!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
46 events
7 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Beautiful production. The dancing was lovely, not too complex of choreography. The costumes and lighting were striking. Well worth seeing!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Beautifully presented, costumes were elegant and music was wonderful. Don't miss this production.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
6 reviews
6 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful ballet performance of Romeo and Juliet.Exceeded my expectations in everyway.We had wonderful seats!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
5 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

This event was NOT as good as I expected. There were 2 intermissions which was unusual and sort of frustrating because the gap between the 2nd and 3rd was only 25 minutes. The story was what we all know with some differences. It was...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 30 2011

awesome sets and costumes. The orchestra was superb, the dancing magnificent. The dancers exhibited incredible emotion via their dancing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
19 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

Beautiful costume and production. Well-organized venue.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
44 events
4 reviews
4 stars
attended Oct 01 2011

The SF Ballet performance of Romeo and Juliet was OUTSTANDING.
Received a very well deserved standing ovation. I loved it.!

Thanks.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1