1399044835 different

different words for the same thing Reviews

Kirk Douglas Theatre (Culver City, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

18 ratings
3.7 average rating
  • 7
    5
  • 3
    4
  • 5
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 2
    1
641 events
366 reviews
-375 stars
attended May 17 2014

Wonderful, rich show - writing and acting. Much to discuss afterwards. They held an audience "chat" in the lobby afterwards - with killer doughnuts!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
136 events
66 reviews
33 stars
attended May 06 2014

Dreadful show. Horrid writing and many of the younger actors were
truly terrible. In addition, it runs for just short of two hours with no intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
64 events
15 reviews
26 stars
attended May 16 2014

This a powerful and sensitive play which initially appears to be unconnected scenes that are weaved together to a powerful conclusion. The strong acting and seamless set movements make this a thought provoking experience that is highly recommended..

star this review starred report as inappropriate
252 events
120 reviews
32 stars
attended May 17 2014

Very interesting and involving play. Well acted. Took awhile to figure who was who, but it all became clear with a twist ending.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
70 events
40 reviews
9 stars
attended May 14 2014

Raw and emotional. Boils up into a pretty great play by the end. The playwright is clearly about one show away from being one of those perennial Pulitzer people.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
60 events
18 reviews
15 stars
attended May 18 2014

While the play is a little untidy in structure -- with too many characters -- the last twenty minutes are so good, it is worth seeing.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
14 reviews
5 stars
attended May 14 2014

While I didn't warm to this work immediately, it knit together its many individual characters very cleverly, and by the end I was a believer. Clever set changes and use of music, along with a talented cast and insightful script, transported me to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
12 events
11 reviews
2 stars
13 events
5 reviews
11 stars
attended May 31 2014

The calvacade of short vignettes seems to be building to something that never actually comes. While the actors are mostly wonderful, there are so many characters in such a short span of time that it becomes nearly impossible to know them let...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
13 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended May 08 2014

Absolutely terrible play: shallow, dull and repetitive.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
4 reviews
3 stars
attended May 31 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a very nice evening at the theatre. The play was well cast and had a complex, engaging story line. Excellent acting. We really enjoyed ourselves. I would highly recommend this play.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
3 reviews
2 stars
attended May 14 2014

Go to see this play. I went despite some negative comments (shallow and unfounded). It was great. One of the best I've seen in past two years!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended May 08 2014

The play made me think of a modern day, "Our Town", but more scattered. We were kept in the dark about the main theme for too long. Interesting characters but the plot and sub-plots were a bit weak. It ws "good", but certainly not "great" theater.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
6 stars
attended May 24 2014

we had fun!! sad and funny. loved the light work. interesting story.

star this review starred report as inappropriate