The beaux strategem 071113

The Beaux' Stratagem Reviews

Lyndall Finley Wortham Theatre (Houston, TX)

Reviews & Ratings

9 ratings
2.9 average rating
  • 2
    5
  • 1
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 2
    2
  • 2
    1
22 events
4 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 13 2013

The students were great, but what a BAD play. Who picked this play to perform? (...definately not the students) It was not entertaining...and definately NOT funny. Two hours of my life that I will never get back.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
25 events
9 reviews
3 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

It was difficult to understand the words if the performer was not facing you.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
20 events
9 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 10 2013

The actors were difficult to understand, and neither my friend nor I could stay awake. We couldn't really figure out what was going on, so we left at intermission. We felt bad about it because we think the actors did a pretty good job.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
8 reviews
20 stars
attended Oct 04 2013

The play was well acted by all the cast members as is the usual with UH performances. However, these actors could not overcome the heavy script. I found myself anxiously awaiting the intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
4 events
4 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 06 2013

Very well-performed! Great sets and costuming, good accents, really fun! Did not expect this quality from a university production, kudos to them!!! (Downside, Goldstar puts their address as 4800 Calhoun, which is nowhere near it. Parking meters...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 05 2013

Better than I expected. Witty and funny.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

Address provided on tickets was wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We spend 1 hour driving around UH campus to find the Wortham theater. IT IS GOLDSTAR's mistake to put the UH welcome center as the address for the actual play. We...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Oct 12 2013

Great and energetic production

star this review starred report as inappropriate