Glengarry 100912

Glengarry Glen Ross Reviews

Sheila and Hughes Potiker Theatre (La Jolla, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

10 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 7
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
26 events
9 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 21 2012

Characters were highly annoying. That would have been OK if there was enough comedy, dark or otherwise, to make it fun. Venue was great, and the play's premise had promise, but the writing was unimpressive.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
10 events
9 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 14 2012

Had wanted to see this for many years, thank you for this production in La Jolla. The skillful, rapid fire dialogue was flawless. These desperate whipping boys apply their salesmanship in every interaction they navigate, that made me think of an...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
32 events
9 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 20 2012

Well acted. Nothing comedia about the script. This was a heavy play reflecting the total lack of ethics in business which is worse now than in the 80s when the play was written. An experience not to be missed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
7 events
5 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 21 2012

I was put off by the unending verbal yelling. There was no balance. In the end, I didn't care about any of the characters. The best part was when they took their bow, they had finally shut up.
I don't blame the actors. You work with the material...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
2 stars
attended Oct 20 2012

Fast paced, captivating, thought-provoking!
Lots of good sub-issues (e.g. refereneces to "my daughter....").

Loved it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
11 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 19 2012

Fair performances but missing the emotional intensity we have come to expect from this play. Direction was flat and uninspired and made the production less interesting than it should have been. We will likely not attend another dramatic production...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
5 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 21 2012

The cast did an awesome job! .The set looked great too! I just wish Alec Baldwin's character from the film could have been included in the show because coffee is for closers!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Oct 21 2012

The seats were excellent.Glengarry Glen Ross was exceptionally well produced & acted .
Thank you Goldstar for your excellent service.

star this review starred report as inappropriate